Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
This came up in another thread and I decided I'm sick of it already! For the most part everything works fine with my web browsing. I've just run into one ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    288

    can't load some web pages from this machine


    This came up in another thread and I decided I'm sick of it already!

    For the most part everything works fine with my web browsing. I've just run into one problem, some sites won't load on my machine. The ones I've verified are http://www.hexus.net and http://www.rawganique.com but I'm sure there are others.

    It first popped up in Firefox, but I've also tried with Links and it doesn't work there either. Firefox returns a 'connection refused', and Links a 'No route to host'. I'm using Arch Linux current with their build of Firefox 1.0. I've tried changing the user agent string, but that doesn't do it.

    Here's the thing, using the same ISP on the same phone line, a roommate's Windows computer using Firefox 1.0 can connect to these sites. Also, a friends laptop using Arch Current and the same Firefox 1.0 build can connect to these sites on his cable connection.

    Does anyone have a clue what's going on here? I'm needing some clothes and I hate plugging my cc# into a Windows machine.
    I'm on a dialup connection with a hardware ISA modem on ttyS1, 2.6.8.1 kernel, and a (I'm pretty sure) properly configured loopback through a VIA Rhine NIC.

    Thanks
    Michael Salivar

    Man knows himself insofar as he knows the world, becoming aware of it only in himself, and of himself only within it.
    --Goethe

  2. #2
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    Have you tried the version of FF from www.mozilla.org? It's just a thought,
    Also have you got your cookies eanbled? this might cause a problem maybe?
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  3. #3
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    288
    No, I haven't gotten a chance to get the official build yet, but you can add Dillo to the list now.
    I also tried installing Flash last night, and then promptly cleansed my machine of the evil once I discovered it had no effect.
    And yes, cookies are enabled, and clearing my cache/cookies doesn't help.

    Oh, and I forgot to say that I tried my machine on a friend's cable a few weeks back and it didn't work there either, so it doesn't appear to be associated with my dialup.

    I'm at a complete loss, I wish I had spare hard drive space to try a fresh installation. I'll try a live CD when I get a chance to reboot, and maybe I can dig up another modem.
    Michael Salivar

    Man knows himself insofar as he knows the world, becoming aware of it only in himself, and of himself only within it.
    --Goethe

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,267
    First start to get the official realease as the bugs have been fixed... Your ISP wont block those site for sure... why would they? As for flash, it's extremely easy to setup... A fresh install isnt needed as the "internet" works general...
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama
    \"Competition ultimatly comes down to one thing... a loser and a winner.\" - Ugo Deschamps

  6. #5
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    288
    First start to get the official realease as the bugs have been fixed
    Well, I'll try the official FF release, but I can't even ping these sites from my machine, so I really don't think it's browser related.

    Your ISP wont block those site for sure... why would they?
    At least it rules out a DNS issue.

    As for flash, it's extremely easy to setup
    Yeah, Flash is simple to install: pacman -S flashplugin and it's installed and configured. I didn't think it was a Flash issue, but I was just making sure. I guess I could have pinged or tracerouted to determine that, but networking isn't my strong point.

    A fresh install isnt needed as the "internet" works general
    It would rule out a package conflict or misconfiguration.

    I think I may be dealing with two different problems:

    Code:
    # traceroute www.hexus.net | sort > hexus
    traceroute to www.hexus.net (84.12.5.240), 30 hops max, 40 byte packets
     1  dial-216-198-97-1.triconet.org (216.198.97.1)  134.796 ms  124.850 ms  124.934 ms
     2  dial-216-198-97-1.triconet.org (216.198.97.1)  127.906 ms !H *  123.027 ms !H
    Code:
    # traceroute www.rawganique.com | sort > rawganique
    traceroute to www.rawganique.com (204.19.249.43), 30 hops max, 40 byte packets
     1  dial-216-198-97-1.triconet.org (216.198.97.1)  3176.396 ms  124.536 ms  120.934 ms
     2  * 12.124.145.81 (12.124.145.81)  1127.559 ms  132.434 ms
     3  gbr2-p53.phmaz.ip.att.net (12.123.142.42)  128.628 ms  131.861 ms  3184.454 ms
     4  tbr2-p013402.dlstx.ip.att.net (12.122.10.81)  3144.044 ms  176.859 ms  173.932 ms
     5  tbr2-cl6.sl9mo.ip.att.net (12.122.10.89)  176.924 ms  167.930 ms  147.218 ms
     6  tbr2-cl7.cgcil.ip.att.net (12.122.10.45)  158.929 ms  156.623 ms  158.921 ms
     7  gar1-p390.chail.ip.att.net (12.123.216.217)  175.163 ms  3329.362 ms  194.926 ms
     8  12.119.137.54 (12.119.137.54)  3163.476 ms  170.873 ms  163.927 ms
     9  OC48POS6-0.tor-core-1.peer1.net (216.187.114.142)  179.925 ms  185.801 ms  174.908 ms
    10  OC48POS1-0.tor-core-2.peer1.net (216.187.114.134)  183.636 ms  181.213 ms  177.932 ms
    11  OC48POS3-0.mtl-core-b.peer1.net (216.187.68.93)  193.925 ms  192.848 ms  3189.465 ms
    12  Gig5-0.mtl-gsr-b.peer1.net (216.187.90.42)  184.923 ms  174.147 ms  185.574 ms
    13  bgp-mtl-sora-peer1.iweb.ca (216.187.90.134)  3175.526 ms  209.516 ms *
    14  bridgefw.clic.net (204.19.252.100)  4242.234 ms  216.930 ms  215.834 ms
    Thanks for trying so far
    I'm going to boot into a LiveCD now
    Michael Salivar

    Man knows himself insofar as he knows the world, becoming aware of it only in himself, and of himself only within it.
    --Goethe

  7. #6
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    288
    Ok, so I loaded up Mepis and tried these two sites. Hexus.net won't load, but Rawganique.com does. I realized that I had only tried Rawganique on my roommates computer, and when trying Hexus it failed. So it looks like that one is a DNS issue, and seeing that most sites that I haven't verified return a connection refused immediately, like Hexus, I think they are too. I'll give the techs at Trico a call tomorrow and see what's going on.

    That still leaves Rawganique, though, which takes awhile to return the connection refused, and who's traceroute returns 12 or so hops past my ISP.
    Michael Salivar

    Man knows himself insofar as he knows the world, becoming aware of it only in himself, and of himself only within it.
    --Goethe

  8. #7
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Rockin' in the USA!!!
    Posts
    603
    Do you have a firewall?

  9. #8
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    288
    That I do not.
    Michael Salivar

    Man knows himself insofar as he knows the world, becoming aware of it only in himself, and of himself only within it.
    --Goethe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •