Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
Please help. I am using k3b to burn cd's. When I go to copy cd it takes about 20 minutes to copy it, and then when i go to play ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    166

    K3B


    Please help. I am using k3b to burn cd's. When I go to copy cd it takes about 20 minutes to copy it, and then when i go to play it, track time counter moves but there is not any sound coming out. Please help, I would like to know if there is a better program to use or away to make this one work.
    Desk TopAMD Semperon 3200+, MSI KT6V mobo, ATI Radeon 64mg DDR, 256 mg 3200, 40 gig HD
    LapTop Toshiba 105s. Pentium 75, 45 meg ram, 500 mg hdd.
    Server Compaq Proliant 166 mhz cpu. 168 meg ram, 2 x 4 gig hdd, 2 x 9 gig hdd

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,267
    Well k3b is working fantastick...
    what are your trying to burn
    whats your cd write speed
    whats your burner speed
    whats your computer specs.
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama
    \"Competition ultimatly comes down to one thing... a loser and a winner.\" - Ugo Deschamps

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    166
    I am trying to burn a music cd. My specs are

    CD Rom mitsumi 32x
    CD RW Plextor 24x
    SUSE 9.0 enterprise server
    256 meg ram
    AMD 2000 overclocked to 2200+
    Desk TopAMD Semperon 3200+, MSI KT6V mobo, ATI Radeon 64mg DDR, 256 mg 3200, 40 gig HD
    LapTop Toshiba 105s. Pentium 75, 45 meg ram, 500 mg hdd.
    Server Compaq Proliant 166 mhz cpu. 168 meg ram, 2 x 4 gig hdd, 2 x 9 gig hdd

  4. #4
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Are you able to play other audio CDs with your computer?
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    166
    yupper. i have install kaffeine. and they great.
    Desk TopAMD Semperon 3200+, MSI KT6V mobo, ATI Radeon 64mg DDR, 256 mg 3200, 40 gig HD
    LapTop Toshiba 105s. Pentium 75, 45 meg ram, 500 mg hdd.
    Server Compaq Proliant 166 mhz cpu. 168 meg ram, 2 x 4 gig hdd, 2 x 9 gig hdd

  6. #6
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Have you checked your mixer settings to make sure your CD player isn't muted?
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  7. #7
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,267
    Do you have a dual boot system /w windows?
    Do you have a sound system home?
    Have you tryed mounting the device? to make sure its an audio cd... not a data one
    Do you simply have a Cd player lying around?
    Make an audio cd work in kaffeine, then eject and place this one... if it doesnt work tell us..

    Thanks
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama
    \"Competition ultimatly comes down to one thing... a loser and a winner.\" - Ugo Deschamps

  8. #8
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    166
    yeah. I have tried it in the computer, and in my car cd player. they both have a counter showing that it is playing but nothing is coming out of the speakers.
    Desk TopAMD Semperon 3200+, MSI KT6V mobo, ATI Radeon 64mg DDR, 256 mg 3200, 40 gig HD
    LapTop Toshiba 105s. Pentium 75, 45 meg ram, 500 mg hdd.
    Server Compaq Proliant 166 mhz cpu. 168 meg ram, 2 x 4 gig hdd, 2 x 9 gig hdd

  9. #9
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,267
    Is the original cd working ?
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama
    \"Competition ultimatly comes down to one thing... a loser and a winner.\" - Ugo Deschamps

  10. #10
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    Have you tried ripping the cd to the hard drive and then burning that cd?

    Have you got the CD burner on the same IDE cable as the CD drive? and which is set to master/slave?

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •