Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
ok i downloaded the latest src from xchat.org version 2.0.2 or something and now i did ./configure then make then make install all under su so thats not a problem. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Minnesota, USA yes.....
    Posts
    479

    BAH. stupid Xchat....help


    ok i downloaded the latest src from xchat.org version 2.0.2 or something and now i did ./configure then make then make install all under su so thats not a problem. my question now is how do i get it run?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    What's wrong with running "xchat"?

  3. #3
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Minnesota, USA yes.....
    Posts
    479
    running the command "xchat" doesnt work i just get an error... could not run the specified path or something

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Could you check the exact error?

  6. #5
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Minnesota, USA yes.....
    Posts
    479
    ok when i push alt+F2 i get this when running xchat "Could Not Run The Specified Command!" and in a terminal i get this

    [troy@localhost troy]$ xchat
    bash: xchat: command not found

  7. #6
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    In that case it seems as if it isn't installed. Are you sure that you didn't get an error while compiling it?
    In any other case, could you post the output of "echo $PATH" and "whereis xchat"?

  8. #7
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Lebanon, pa
    Posts
    994
    The command is xchat-2

  9. #8
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Norway, Asker
    Posts
    267
    Huh? I run Xchat 2.0.2 and I use "xchat" with no error, the command "xchat-2" is not on my system.. ??

  10. #9
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Lebanon, pa
    Posts
    994
    I run xchat 2.02 and my binary is called xchat-2

  11. #10
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Minnesota, USA yes.....
    Posts
    479
    alright i got it working. it was on my man 9.1 disks. but no those other commands didnt work. and its running perfect now. thanks for alllll the help appreciated!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •