Find the answer to your Linux question:
I just ordered a copy of SUSE; I am new to Linux and not knowing what to expect. I use the following programs on a daily basis and am looking ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Looking for Windows Software Alternatives

I just ordered a copy of SUSE; I am new to Linux and not knowing what to expect.

I use the following programs on a daily basis and am looking for the Linux alternatives.

Photoshop
    Freehand
    FrontPage
    Flash

What are the recommended replacements for these?

Thanks in advance.

Linux Guru
    The counterpart for Photoshop would be The GIMP (GNU Image Manipulation Program). Some claim that The GIMP is the best image creation program ever made, but I guess there is the chance that at least some of them are just enthusiasts. I know from testimonials that it's really good, though, although I don't deal anything with graphics myself.
    I don't know what Freehand is.
    You actually use Frontpage? You should really stop doing that. Not only does it generate a whole lot of really bad HTML code, it's also bad in a lot of other ways (like incompatibility with other things, and who knows all of it). Have you ever considered editing HTML by hand? It's not hard at all. Otherwise I'm sure that there is some good alternative for Linux, but I don't know what it would be. I know that OpenOffice can create HTML files, but since it isn't really a HTML editor, I wouldn't think it gets very good.
    I'm not sure that there actually is a Flash editor in Linux. I think there should be, since many web developers do use Linux, but I have heard rumors (not guaranteed to be true, though) that it's not possible.

Ice
    Just Joined!