Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Just got back from a trip to mexico and I'm trying to install xine now. I'm running RedHat 8.0 I downloaded the rpms off of cambuca.ldhs.cetuc.puc-rio.br as referenced on the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User Mado's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    255

    I need help installing xine...


    Just got back from a trip to mexico and I'm trying to install xine now. I'm running RedHat 8.0 I downloaded the rpms off of cambuca.ldhs.cetuc.puc-rio.br as referenced on the xine sight. I got the Curl, libxine, xine-ui, and libdvdcss rpms. When I try to install Curl it says a newer version is already installed. That's not a problem. But when I got to install the RMPs for libxine it just sits there, like it shows a blank terminal line or if I click on it, it does nothing. what do I do?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,284
    try installing with Verbose Mode on, ie: rpm -ivv <packagename>

    it might give some indication as to what is going wrong.

    Are you R00T when trying to install?

    Jason

  3. #3
    Linux User Mado's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    255
    yes, I'm in root. I tried running it in verbose mode and found that it stops just after the line:

    • D: opening db index /var/lib/rpm/Packages rdonly mode=0x0

  4. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,284
    any problems if you try: "ls -al /var/lib/rpm/Packages"?

    if not, try "rpm --rebuilddb", then try the install command again.

    Try restarting the PC also.

    Jason

  5. #5
    Linux User Mado's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    255
    This is what it says:

    • [root@localhost root]# ls -al /var/lib/rpm/Packages
      -rw-r--r-- 1 rpm rpm 16465920 Jul 13 17:51 /var/lib/rpm/Packages

  6. #6
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,284
    thats ok, did you try running rpm --rebuilddb?

    then try installing again.

    Jason

  7. #7
    Linux User Mado's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    255
    when I run the rpm --rebuilddb it just sits there. I let it sit while I ate dinner and still nothing came up.

  8. #8
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,284
    try:
    rm -f /var/lib/rpm/__db*
    rpm --rebuilddb

    You will get a db4 error - ignore that. All should be good after that.
    from: http://info.ccone.at/INFO/Mail-Archi.../msg03070.html

    Jason

  9. #9
    Linux User Mado's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    255
    thanks, I'll try it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •