Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi, I've recently installed Krusader and KXML but can't start either of them. I'm using Suse 9.2 and installed the rpms for both apps through YAST. When I click try ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Bouncing icon... but no application

Hi,

I've recently installed Krusader and KXML but can't start either of them.

I'm using Suse 9.2 and installed the rpms for both apps through YAST. When I click try to open the apps through the menu (utilities/more programs/krusader for instance) I just get a bouncing icon for a while and then nothing.

I'm really new to Linux and not much more than an end-user to be honest so I've got a whole bunch of questions (some of which might make sense).

How do I go about debugging this application? What is going on? What kind of things prevent applications from starting? Is this a recognised phenomenon? With a known workaround?

Any help greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Mark

Run krusader manually from the command line. The errors tend to be more verbose that way:
    Code:
    krusader

Just Joined!
    Thanks for the response.

Quote Originally Posted by lakerdonald
    Run krusader manually from the command line. The errors tend to be more verbose that way:
    Typing "krusader" into the command line gives me:

krusader: symbol lookup error: krusader: undefined symbol: _ZN11KMainWindow7setIconERK7QPixmap

I'll have a search on the error message and see what I can find.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    I guarantee you that has something to do with a bad/missing/improperly configured library... Does Krusader use QT by any chance?

Just Joined!
    I guarantee you that has something to do with a bad/missing/improperly configured library... Does Krusader use QT by any chance?
    What's QT and how do I find out?