Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
IWhats the command to burn an ISO with cdrecord?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    31

    CDrecord and ISO's


    IWhats the command to burn an ISO with cdrecord?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Code:
    cdrecord dev=0,0,0 -data file.iso

  3. #3
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    556
    hmm, i guess that might work, but i prefer:


    Code:
    cdrecord -v speed=XX dev=0,X,0 -eject filename.iso
    * sub your speed for where the XX's are and also check your burner device # by typing cdrecord -scanbus.

    it's on my guide, btw.

    on the software page

  4. #4
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Minnesota, USA yes.....
    Posts
    479
    cdrecord? im unfamiliar. sounds like a terminal burner. is it good? does it come standard with most distros?

  5. #5
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    556

  6. #6
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Minnesota, USA yes.....
    Posts
    479
    ahh cool. this one wont produce as many buffer underuns as k3b will it.....k3b isnt horible but i get about 3-5 wasted disks per 50 pack due to buffer underuns.

  7. #7
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    556
    that depends on your burner and its technology and you computer hardware and the speed at which you burn, cdrecord is less risky tho, lack of a front end helps trim things down a bit

  8. #8
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Most, if not all, GUI CD writing programs are just front-ends to cdrecord. I don't know about k3b, but gnome-toaster, x-cd-roast and the old KDE CD writing program (whatever it was called again) are.
    Btw., the command I gave was just to be a bit generic, I usually use a lot more options. However, to make it really fast, just specify the defaults in /etc/cdrecord.conf. That's really the easiest way to do it, then you can basically just do this:
    Code:
    cdrecord filename.iso

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •