Find the answer to your Linux question:
i have downloaded many apps for Mandrake lately but EVERY SINGLE ONE that has the extension .tar.bz2 , .tar.gz , and even .zip (only for Linux , no trouble under ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

How do you install aplliactions (Tar issue)

i have downloaded many apps for Mandrake lately but EVERY SINGLE ONE that has the extension .tar.bz2 , .tar.gz , and even .zip (only for Linux , no trouble under Windows)

i am really new to linux and have no idea how to use or install these files.

my attempts at trying to install them end up in them being extracted (or complaining that they can't) and trying to run one of the commands but they don't work.

surely im doing something wrong
    "Time has more than one meaning, and is more than one dimension" - /.unknown
    --Registered Linux user #396583--

Linux User
    You'll want to run all of this in a terminal/command line, which you'll find on your taskbar that will look like a monitor with a sea shell over it. If not there, you can open the Kmenu/start menu and go to System - Terminal - Open any Terminal there.

If you're downloading .tar.bz2 or .tar.gz files, you're most likely downloading source files, which need to be unpacked and compiled. They do work considering if you have no dependency problems with certain files. To unpack .tar.bz2, simply:

Code:
    tar -jzxf filename.tar.bz2
    For .tar.gz

Code:
    tar -zxvf filename.tar.gz
    They will unpack into the directories they make and you'll need to cd (change directory) into them.

I believe you can treat .zip the same way you would as if it were a Windows machine.

Compiling from source is a bit different. From a Terminal, you'll need to login as root:

Code:
    su
    <enter root password>
    ./configure
    make
    make install