Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Hi everyone. I have installed Firefox, latest version, under root account in /usr/share dir. but now under regular user account i get an error message when i try to start ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User GNU_man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Canada, eh
    Posts
    284

    firefox error message


    Hi everyone. I have installed Firefox, latest version, under root account in /usr/share dir. but
    now under regular user account i get an error message when i try to start it:

    firefox-bin: undefined symbol: NS_NewUnionEnu

    anyone have any ideas?
    PTL x10 Hallelujah!
    AMD Athlon XP 2600+ 512MB RAM Dual 80G WD HD 8MB Cache (1 WinXP Home, 1 CentOS 4.2) GeForce Ti4200 128MB SB Live! 5.1
    Registered Linux user #391521

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Flatline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,204
    Have you checked the permissions on the install directory? If the user doesn't at least have read permissions I could see how there would be problems.
    There are two major products that come out of Berkeley: LSD and UNIX. We don't believe this to be a coincidence.

    - Jeremy S. Anderson

  3. #3
    Linux User GNU_man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Canada, eh
    Posts
    284
    Yes, that was the first thing i did. I have read + execute permission. That error message _must_ be give a clue though, it sounds like the name of a font (?)
    PTL x10 Hallelujah!
    AMD Athlon XP 2600+ 512MB RAM Dual 80G WD HD 8MB Cache (1 WinXP Home, 1 CentOS 4.2) GeForce Ti4200 128MB SB Live! 5.1
    Registered Linux user #391521

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer rong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    803
    Quote Originally Posted by GNU_man
    Yes, that was the first thing i did. I have read + execute permission. That error message _must_ be give a clue though, it sounds like the name of a font (?)
    Does it work correctly when you run it as root?
    registered Linux user #388382

    Have you checked here first?

  5. #5
    Linux User GNU_man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Canada, eh
    Posts
    284
    Nope. tried that too. root console SU reports same error message.
    PTL x10 Hallelujah!
    AMD Athlon XP 2600+ 512MB RAM Dual 80G WD HD 8MB Cache (1 WinXP Home, 1 CentOS 4.2) GeForce Ti4200 128MB SB Live! 5.1
    Registered Linux user #391521

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer rong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    803
    Quote Originally Posted by GNU_man
    Nope. tried that too. root console SU reports same error message.
    Then clearly not permissions issue. I've read of a number of issues with the latest version of ff. How about installing an earlier version. Every version of ff is available for dl.
    registered Linux user #388382

    Have you checked here first?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •