Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Hey all, I just installed the latest version of FireFox on my Red Hat 9 Box. I double clicked the firefox-installer and it brought me to the setup and I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    19

    Just installed FireFox...wheres the executable!!??


    Hey all, I just installed the latest version of FireFox on my Red Hat 9 Box. I double clicked the firefox-installer and it brought me to the setup and I installed it in /home/jkiefer/firefox. Now, i'm totally confused! I opened that folder, to find a bunch of files, none of which were executables(at least to my knowledge). It didnt install anything to the desktop, and nothing to the start menu(i'll just call it that b/c i dunno what its real name is). I'm a complete Linux noob so if anyone can help, thanks a whole bunch! O, and I think its a gnome desktop on my Linux box with RH9...

  2. #2
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    One of those files, can't remember the name, but if you click on it, firefox will launch. Drag this file to the desktop, select "Link here"
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    104

    firefox

    I think it is just plain old "firefox". All those other *.so files are source object files and are used as a reference for variables and constants.
    My New years Resolution is 1280x1024

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Chicago (USA)
    Posts
    1,028
    You execute the shell script "firefox".

  5. #5
    Linux Enthusiast puntmuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Republic Banana
    Posts
    562
    Execute it with full path
    Code:
    /home/jkiefer/firefox/firefox
    I\'m so tired .....
    #200472

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    19
    Thanks guys..I also added a launcher for it on my RH Desktop!

    now if anybody can help me with my network problem...- http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/topic-45177.html

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •