Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
i am very new to linux, less than a week....i just am so sick of microsoft..anyways my question is.....i loaded real player for linux on my computer, but i didn't ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

uninstalling software

i am very new to linux, less than a week....i just am so sick of microsoft..anyways my question is.....i loaded real player for linux on my computer, but i didn't make it available except in root. So how can i uninstall it and install in correctly. i have an idea on how to reinstall it right now (bought "Linux for Dummies")..any help would be appreciated and don't be suprised to hear from me again...lol

Linux Engineer
    What errormessage do you get, are you sure that you just dont have the directorys where your software are located in your PATH variable. In that case you should get an errormessage like:

command/file not found
    Regards

Andutt

Just Joined!
    well i put the file in my root folder and typed rpm -ivvh (filename) it did a lot of scrolling and real player open up after that but i can't find it anywhere..so i'm assuming that it's installed in root somewhere not accessible. any ideas on what i can do? i'm not really getting an error until i try to install it again

Linux Enthusiast
    are you actually logged in as root? :o

you should be logged in as user and just use root priveleges in the terminal to install things.

you might wanna check out the easy linux guide in my sig below.

realplayer is probably installed for both u and root, check your menu item to see what the command is and then edit your menu in user mode to add it to the menu - let's hope you are using kde.

Linux Enthusiast
    mods can delete

(original posted twice for some reason)

Linux Engineer