Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
Does wine come with RH8.0?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    6

    Wine and RH8.0


    Does wine come with RH8.0?

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Lebanon, pa
    Posts
    994
    I am sure you can choose it during the install. If not, go to rpmfind.net and d/l it.

  3. #3
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Yes, you can choose it during installation.

  4. #4
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Daytona Beach, FL
    Posts
    487
    just remember to setup your wine config file, or else things wont work like you want them to (at least not very often) and even then is pre-alpha stuff - no promises
    majorwoo

    Quiet brain, or I\'ll stab you with a Q-tip.

  5. #5
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    I haven't used the default distribution in a while, but I think RH8 comes with good config files for wine, and even a directory with some standard file structures in /usr/share/wine-c.

  6. #6
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Daytona Beach, FL
    Posts
    487
    yes it does, but the config file can only guess to much as to your drive labels under windows, and is (no fault of anyone) often missing library files that need installed seperatley
    majorwoo

    Quiet brain, or I\'ll stab you with a Q-tip.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Walking my penguin.
    Posts
    12
    Where is wine on RH8.0? I installed everything and still dont see it. Yet I have been only running KDE cause it works well with laptops.

  8. #8
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    That's because you don't see it. Wine has no application window or menu launcher or something; you'll have to start it from the command line with the windows EXE file you want to run as its argument.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Walking my penguin.
    Posts
    12
    And how would I go about doing that. Im new at this command line thing.

  10. #10
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    If I were to explain how to use the shell, I'd just get into technicalities and the background semantics of it all, if I know myself right. Plus, I'd probably lock this thread up with a discussion with genlee about how bash handles backticks internally or something.
    Instead, there are about two options:
    1. Someone else tells you
    2. You check out http://home.echo-on.net/~hgibson/Uni...ine-HOWTO.html

    The HOWTO doesn't seem to be all too descriptive, but hopefully, it wil describe how the shell basically works.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •