Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello, I am fairly new to the Linux scene, so please excuse any stupidity on my part. I am setting up a LAN with my Linux box as a file/web ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Problems with Samba + Windows

Hello, I am fairly new to the Linux scene, so please excuse any stupidity on my part.

I am setting up a LAN with my Linux box as a file/web server. It is a 486 running RedHat 5.1, kernal 2.0.35.

I have the Linux computer working flawlessly with my Mac OS X computer: I can use the smb services, FTP, web (apache), log into it remotely, and even listen to streamed music (my 486 is runing fluid ).

On the PC, however, I cannot use the smb services. Here's the weird thing: using a linux command promt, I can use the "smbclient -L [IP of Mac]" to view the services offered on that computer. I can also use "smbclient -L [name of Mac in /etc/hosts]". Makes sense to me. However, when I do this for windows, "smbclient -L [IP of PC]" returns:

"Added interface ip=127.0.0.1 bcast=127.255.255.255 nmask=255.0.0.0
    Session request failed (131,130) with myname=LOCALHOST destname=192.168.0.10
    Called name not present
    Try to connect to another name (instead of 192.168.0.10)
    You may find the -I option useful for this"

The odd thing is, when I use "smbclient -L [name of PC in /etc/hosts]", it works! Now, the REAL problem is that I can't connect to the linux box FROM the PC, and I'm not sure if the above info is of any help. From windows (Me), I CAN connect to the Mac, with "My Network Places > Add Network Place", typing "\\[IP of Mac]\". I can also type in the name of the Mac, though I don't know where exactly it gets that name. If I try to connect to the linux box using an IP, it results in an error, and I don't know what name to use (localhost does nothing). I've also tried browsing the entire network on the windows pc, but it doesn't show the linux box.