Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I need to know how to use cdrecord without reading......not right now..no time....i wanna burn my FreeBSD ISO and k3b is *****ing about qt. so whats the command to write ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Minnesota, USA yes.....
    Posts
    479

    cdrecord...QUick please


    I need to know how to use cdrecord without reading......not right now..no time....i wanna burn my FreeBSD ISO and k3b is *****ing about qt. so whats the command to write an iso using cdrecord? please. and thank you.

  2. #2
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Huntington Beach, CA
    Posts
    390
    cdrecord -v speed=x dev=0,x,0 file. You can use cdrecord -scanbus to find out what device number your burner is.

  3. #3
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    If you set up /etc/cdrecord.conf properly, you just need to do "cdrecord file".

  4. #4
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    556
    Dolda, for curiosity sake, I took a look at the cdrecord.conf file but I didn't really see much that could be clearly changed to make burning easier or more convenient except for the default speed which seemed useless due the disclaimer that it defaults to the max speed anyway.

    Would you mind outlining a bit of what can be changed to make using this command easier. Here is the file:

    Code:
    #ident @(#)cdrecord.dfl 1.4 02/07/07 Copyr 1998 J. Schilling
    #
    # This file is /etc/cdrecord.conf
    # It contains defaults that are used if no command line option
    # or environment is present.
    #
    # The default device, if not specified elswhere
    #
    CDR_DEVICE=yamaha
    
    #
    # The default speed, if not specified elswhere
    #
    # Note that newer cdrecord versions do not default
    # to speed=1. For MMC compliant drives, the default
    # is to write at maximum speed, so it in general does
    # not make sense to set up a default speed in /etc/cdrecord.conf
    #
    #CDR_SPEED=40
    
    #
    # The default FIFO size if, not specified elswhere
    #
    CDR_FIFOSIZE=4m
    
    #
    # The following definitions allow abstract device names.
    # They are used if the device name does not contain the
    # the characters ',', ':', '/' and '@'
    #
    # Unless you have a good reason, use speed == -1 and let
    # cdrecord use it's intercal drive specific defaults.
    #
    # drive name    device  speed   fifosize driveropts
    #
    teac=           1,3,0   -1      -1      ""
    panasonic=      1,4,0   -1      -1      ""
    plextor=        1,4,0   -1      -1      ""
    sanyo=          1,4,0   -1      -1      burnfree
    yamaha=         1,5,0   -1      -1      ""
    cdrom=          0,6,0   2       1m      ""
    for details, I use generic-mmc and my burner is 52x24x52 and it is on dev=0,0,0 if you want to use it for an example.

  5. #5
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    cdrecord.conf is especially good if you have several burners. Since I guess that you haven't, though, just specify one and make it the default. I use the following:
    Code:
    CDR_DEVICE=liteon
    CDR_FIFOSIZE=4m
    
    #name  device   speed   FIFO size   driver options
    liteon=0,0,0    52      -1          burnproof

  6. #6
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    556
    hmm, I don't seem to have the cdrecord.conf in arch, I'll take a look in Jamd where I know I have, thanks for the info.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •