Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
I have just converted to Linspire 5-0 (thought I'd give it a go) ang I need gcc for a modem. When I try to configure it says "no acceptable cc ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Looe, Cornwall UK
    Posts
    152

    gcc install error


    I have just converted to Linspire 5-0 (thought I'd give it a go) ang I need gcc for a modem. When I try to configure it says "no acceptable cc found in $PATH."

    Why does it expect me to already have a compiler? If I had a compiler I wouldn't be trying to install gcc for the first time would I?

    Direct quote from the dependency list;

    "gcc-4.0.1 requires;

    gcc from gcc
    cc from gcc"

    WTF!!!!!

    Is there any way that I can get it to install without it already being installed?

    Thanks,

    Severus.
    Cry out for freedom! Cry out for Linux!

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    908
    Try using the --force and --nodeps flags.
    serzsite.com.ar
    "All the drugs in this world won\'t save you from yourself"

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Chicago (USA)
    Posts
    1,028
    *sigh* Linspire's so bad it doesn't even come with GCC. How sad. Get GCC from the "CNR" thing.

  4. #4
    Linux Guru Cabhan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    3,252
    Quote Originally Posted by a thing
    *sigh* Linspire's so bad it doesn't even come with GCC. How sad. Get GCC from the "CNR" thing.
    Erm...SuSE doesn't come with gcc by default either... from my understanding, a number of binary-based distros don't come with it.

    See if you can use an RPM to install gcc or get it from CNR.

  5. #5
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    908
    I don't know if they're included by default, but I'm pretty sure that gcc it's in the "Development" packages, at least for SuSE.
    serzsite.com.ar
    "All the drugs in this world won\'t save you from yourself"

  6. #6
    Linux Guru Cabhan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    3,252
    Yeah, but people panic when they go to install their first source app and there's no gcc or make there .

    I don't understand why they're not included.

  7. #7
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    908
    Yes, that's true.. but even if both are included they would panic anyway.. lot's of development packages are required sometimes.
    serzsite.com.ar
    "All the drugs in this world won\'t save you from yourself"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •