Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
alright.... i just emerged xorg-x11 and fluxbox, did xorgconfig, and tried to "startx" it seems to be working for about 2 seconds; the x mouse cursor loads, the fluxbox cursor ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    look out your window
    Posts
    72

    X woes.... locking up before fluxbox starts


    alright....
    i just emerged xorg-x11 and fluxbox, did xorgconfig, and tried to "startx"
    it seems to be working for about 2 seconds; the x mouse cursor loads, the fluxbox cursor loads, but then the cursor turns to a white box and just freezes. i cant seem to get around this problem.
    my xorg.conf is here: http://tuxxman.homelinux.net/pages/xorg.conf and my old XF86Config-4 is here: http://www.geocities.com/virtualsick...86Config-4.txt <- worked in case you wanted to compare or whatever
    i have a dell d2400 with an i810 board. i've got the i810 graphics controllers included in the kernel config.
    my xinit script consists of:
    Code:
    exec fluxbox
    any help would be greatly appreciated!!!
    -tuxxman

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Luton, England, UK, Earth
    Posts
    639
    I think that you are going to need to include the i810 drivers in the xorgconfig, cos I don't see them there, and also, on your xinitrc, what lines are commented out, and what lines aren't?

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Farnborough, UK
    Posts
    1,305
    tuxxman, can you post the error log from /var/log??
    Lansbury's Lido

    thekiadriver on #linuxforums - fleetingly

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    look out your window
    Posts
    72
    http://tuxxman.homelinux.net/pages/Xorg.0.log
    and i have the i810 drivers in there...

  6. #5
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Farnborough, UK
    Posts
    1,305
    Do a search for dma initialization here

    http://66.102.9.104/linux?q=cache:4l...n+Failed&hl=en

    There's some comments down the bottom which may give a clue.
    Lansbury's Lido

    thekiadriver on #linuxforums - fleetingly

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    look out your window
    Posts
    72
    i dont have i830...i have i810

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    look out your window
    Posts
    72
    ok..i just did somthing pretty weird....................
    i did
    Code:
    X -configure
    then i edited the mouse entry, as it complained..then did
    Code:
    X -config /root/xorg.conf.new
    and it worked! it didnt die on me and it seemed to work...
    so i shut down X and copied xorg.conf.new to /etc/X11/xorg.conf and did
    Code:
    startx
    and it failed again!
    wtf???????
    very strange!
    i noticed that just after i did
    Code:
    startx
    it said that it cannot get a hostname...but my /etc/conf.d/hostname is just fine... this is beginning to become VERY confusing
    -tuxxman

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •