Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
I really can't install anything and I know there are stickies on this, but they arn't helping. For Instance I have OOO or OpenOffice.org, and I got the packages and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    The 909
    Posts
    36

    I Really can't install anything


    I really can't install anything and I know there are stickies on this, but they arn't helping. For Instance I have OOO or OpenOffice.org, and I got the packages and well okay there are like 15 of them. What amd I supposed to do with all these RPMs?

    I also have the DEB of Audacity, an so I extracted it and got some td.bz files and so I extracted those and then I got some random looking folders and a bunch of files. I've tried opening every single one of them and got nothing.

    I think that program installation is the largest gap between Linux and Windows Usability.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    Code:
    man rpm

  3. #3
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    @ jdrusmtik9,
    Have you ever tried reading the installation instructions for OOo?

    And I am curious, how did you extract a *.deb file even though your profile says you are using SUSE? Again, you might want to try downloading an rpm of audacity in order to install it, *.deb is for Debian based systems and SUSE is not based on Debian.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  4. #4
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    Tutorial on how to install things in linux should help you a bit with what to do with RPMs etc.
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    The 909
    Posts
    36
    Okay well for instance, I did Extract here for the FireFox 1.5 RC1 that I just downloaded it was in a tgz file. and then I got the folder and I opened it up; and heres whats inside, what do I do with this.

    Sorry for the SuSE confusion im now on Debian.


  6. #6
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    Open up a termainal, and use the cd command to go to the firefox directory e.g.
    Code:
    cd /home/john/firefox
    here you should be able to exacute the binary file to install with
    Code:
    ./firefox-bin
    -- note you may have to do this as root by
    Code:
    su 
    [rootpass]
    before you execute the firefox-bin file.
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    The 909
    Posts
    36
    I got an error.

    Code:
    error while loading shared libaries: Libxpcon_core.so  cannot open shared object file:  No such file or directory
    any ideas?

  8. #8
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211

    Firefox

    Installing software on Debian?

    Myself I use Debian, and it works flawlessly.

    I believe there is a tool called "Synaptics", that works great.

    Myself I use tools like "apt-get", "apt-cache" and "dpkg", just do
    Code:
    man apt-get
    and
    Code:
    man apt-cache
    etc. for any help.

    Why use Firefox? My opinion is that Mozilla works better in Debian:
    Code:
    apt-get install mozilla-browser mozilla-psm
    I just downloaded Fireforx 1.5 RC1, to try it out as well. Works great!
    Try this...

    To extract:
    Code:
    tar zxvf firefox-1.5rc1.tar.gz
    Then
    Code:
    cd firefox
    To run
    Code:
    ./firefox
    To "install" it, just copy the directory where you want...

    Works for me...

    If it doesn't, we'll try something else.
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    The 909
    Posts
    36
    works great. So how would I go about getting a link under the applications "start" menu thing under the internet tab?

    and what directory would I copy it to to "install" it

    P.S. thanks a lot it works now but I don't have any convience factor but I can run it from terminal

  10. #10
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Ok, cool.

    Myself I don't use Gnome (I prefer KDE), though I think Gnome is just as good.

    To "install", well, copy in the directory where you wish to. (like /home/[yourself]/firefox)

    Just create a shortcut to it, to use it "conveniently". It think you can create a new item in a menu in Gnome. (Install it where you want BEFORE creating the shortcut )

    Browse in menu, and right click on the "internet" sub-menu and just add the shortcut. (not sure about this one)

    Other than that, the simple way is just to right click on the top panel, and then choose "add an item" (something like that). Then, from the list, you add a shortcut (the first or second item from the top).

    Sorry, I cannot really help you more with Gnome, but check out Gnome help.
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •