Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 34
I bought Red Hat 8.0 Professional, and installed it with every package available. That included Limewire, but when I click on the Limewire icon it doesn't run. Nothing happens at ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Ed
    Ed is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    59

    Limewire doesn't work?


    I bought Red Hat 8.0 Professional, and installed it with every package available. That included Limewire, but when I click on the Limewire icon it doesn't run. Nothing happens at all. What should I do to make it work?

    I want to get myself some MP3s.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Run it in a shell and see what it says.

  3. #3
    Ed
    Ed is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    59
    [ed@Linux /]$ /usr/bin/limewire
    Warning: -jar not understood. Ignoring.
    Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: RunLime.jar
    at 0x4028015f: java.lang.Throwable.Throwable(java.lang.String) (/usr/lib/libg cj.so.3)
    at 0x4027308e: java.lang.Error.Error(java.lang.String) (/usr/lib/libgcj.so.3)
    at 0x40274b1a: java.lang.LinkageError.LinkageError(java.lang.Stri ng) (/usr/li b/libgcj.so.3)
    at 0x40275f76: java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError.NoClassDefFoundErro r(java.lang. String) (/usr/lib/libgcj.so.3)
    at 0x402c50f9: gnu.gcj.runtime.FirstThread.run() (/usr/lib/libgcj.so.3)
    at 0x40266fdc: _Jv_ThreadRun(java.lang.Thread) (/usr/lib/libgcj.so.3)
    at 0x4023378c: _Jv_RunMain(java.lang.Class, byte const, int, byte const, bool ean) (/usr/lib/libgcj.so.3)
    at 0x08048900: ?? (??:0)
    at 0x420158d4: ?? (??:0)
    at 0x080486c1: ?? (??:0)
    [ed@Linux /]$

    That's what it says. :o

  4. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    It seems that it's running it using the gcc java runtime. Try downloading Sun's JRE instead, from http://java.sun.com/j2se/1.4.1/download.html. (Note, the JRE, not the SDK)

  5. #5
    Ed
    Ed is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    59
    The file it downloaded is:

    j2re-1_4_1_01-linux-i586.bin

    What should I do with that file?

  6. #6
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Daytona Beach, FL
    Posts
    487
    chmod u+x j2re-1_4_1_01-linux-i586.bin

    (that add's execute permission to the file, so you can run it)

    then
    (this runs the file)

    ./j2re-1_4_1_01-linux-i586.bin


    it will ask you to agree to the license.. hopefully after that you get an RPM, if not you should go back and get the RPM version of that file (right next to where you downloaded this one if it isn't an RPM)

    then you would do (as root)

    (this will install the RPM, once you thange to the correct filename if it doesnt match)
    rpm -ivh j2sdk-1_4_1_01-fcs-linux-i586.rpm
    majorwoo

    Quiet brain, or I\'ll stab you with a Q-tip.

  7. #7
    Ed
    Ed is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    59
    I went through what you said, but instead of an RPM it gave me a directory of files. Within that directory was a .zip file. I extracted that, which had install.sh inside of it. I went through the steps of it, saying yes to the license agreement. It then returns:

    "In order to use Java(tm) Web Start you must have a version of Java 2 standard edition
    installed."

    Is that not what I'm trying to install right now!? It asks for the directory, and gives the default directory of where it should be. I don't even have the directory.

  8. #8
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Try downloading the RPM instead.

  9. #9
    Ed
    Ed is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    59
    I did the instructions again, this time with the RPM, and after typing in the final command it went through until it said 100%, and gave a blank command line again. I tried the "usr/bin/limewire" command again, and it still did the same thing. =\

  10. #10
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Are you sure it said "-jar not understood"? Give the output of "head -1 /usr/bin/limewire" here.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •