Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I think I messed up something in my linux box. I chose another windows manager from the kde start menu and now when I reboot, KDE doesn't start, a message ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    8

    KDE won't start


    I think I messed up something in my linux box.
    I chose another windows manager from the kde start menu and now when I reboot, KDE doesn't start, a message says XDM is not my default display manager. How can I fix this?
    The system boots but I am stuck with the console....

    I am on a Kanotix Debian.

    Please someone help me....

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    8
    This is what I get when KDE is supposed to start:

    Starting K Display Manager: kdm
    Not starting X display manager (xdm); it is not the default display manager.

    After this KDE don't start anymore....

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Chicago (USA)
    Posts
    1,028
    Just start it manually:
    echo startkde>~/.xinitrc
    startx

    Causes less trouble than a display manager.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    8
    I tried what you suggest but I get the following errors:

    (==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/XF86Config-4"
    (EE) No core pointer device specified
    (EE) Unable to deetermine the screen layout
    (EE) Error from xf86HandleConfigFile()

    Fatal server error:
    No screen found

    When reporting a problem related to a server crash etc etc............

    XIO: Fatal IO error 104 (Connection reset by peer) on X-server ":0.0"
    after 0 requests (0 known processed) with 0 events remaining.

  5. #5
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Chicago (USA)
    Posts
    1,028
    Post your /etc/X11/XF86Config-4.

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    8
    Thank you very much for your help.

    I have solved the problem overwriting the XF86Config-4 file with the old one.

    Now everything works again as usual.
    Thank you so much again for your help !!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •