Find the answer to your Linux question:
:o I am new to Linux and have a Samba question. I have a home network with 5 pc's 1 of which is a Linux server running Redhat 8.0. I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Samba issues

:o

I am new to Linux and have a Samba question. I have a home network with 5 pc's 1 of which is a Linux server running Redhat 8.0. I want to set the linux server to run Samba. I have it running now i believe because from my xp machine when i browse the network I see the Samba server. The problem im having is when i try to log in I get incorrect password I also tried to use SWAT to set the .conf up but i get denied when i try to connect to http://127.0.0.1:901 I have forwarded port 901 to server thru the router and have totally disabled the linux firewall but still get connection refused. I believe I am close to getting it but desperattey need some advice on finishing. Any help would be appreciated.

lagsalot
    lagsalot@cox.net

Linux Guru
    What does your router have with this to do? You are trying to connect to http://127.0.0.1:901/ from the linux computer, aren't you? If not, you should really learn some things about IP networking.
    Anyway, the reason to why you can't log in from the XP machine seems clear to me. I don't know just how far you've come in the process, but there are two things that need to be done before Windows machines can log in to your Samba server:
    1. Set samba to use encrypted passwords (Set "encrypt passwords = yes" in your smb.conf file)
    (1a. Reload samba)
    2. Add the user name which you wish to use from the Windows machines to your samba password file using the smbpasswd command. (See the option "smbpasswd -a" for adding users instead of changing your own SMB password)