Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
When I extract the .tgz version of Opera 8.51 and run the install.sh script, the program appears to install without any obvious problems: Files will be installed as follows: ----------------------------------------------------------- ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    9

    Opera seems to install properly, but does not start.


    When I extract the .tgz version of Opera 8.51 and run the install.sh script, the program appears to install without any obvious problems:

    Files will be installed as follows:
    -----------------------------------------------------------
    Wrapper Script : /usr/bin
    Binaries : /usr/lib/opera/8.51-20051114.5
    Plugins : /usr/lib/opera/plugins
    Shared files : /usr/share/opera
    Documentation : /usr/share/doc/opera
    -----------------------------------------------------------
    Is this correct [ y,n,c | yes,no,cancel ] ?
    y

    System wide configuration files:
    /etc/opera6rc
    /etc/opera6rc.fixed
    would be ignored if installed with the prefix "/usr".
    Do you want to install them in /etc [ y,n | yes,no ] ?
    y

    It even creates an icon in the KDE menu for me. However, when I click it, the spinning hourglass and name appears in the toolbar ( as with other programs when they first start ) but unlike other programs, continues spinning for several seconds and then disappears. So then I try clicking on the executable "opera" in file:/usr/lib/opera/8.51-20051114.5, which does absolutely nothing.

    I am using a full install of Slamd64 so I know the 32 bit compatibility libraries are installed, and the install script did not tell me I was missing anything, but perhaps either this program has some extra dependencies, or certain parameters that have to be uses, not included in the ( seemingly nonexistent ) documentation?
    Last edited by Dymitry; 12-26-2005 at 03:31 PM. Reason: omitted details.

  2. #2
    Linux User St. Joe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    271
    The install script looks fine, but FYI if you are using a Slack .tgz file you should be able to install the proggy with the 'installpkg' command. In any case I don't see any errors with the output. Opera needs the openmotif and qt package to work properly if you are using the shared-qt build. Check to make sure those are on your system.

    Also, start Opera from a terminal and look for error messages.
    It may be that your sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others.

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,429
    Looking at the install script he's just using the standard package, no .tgz. I recommend you get a package from linuxpackages.net (or slacky.it), they certainly have the latest opera.

    Opera needs QT, and lesstif is optional. Try launching Opera from the Konsole to see what it says.
    ** Registered Linux User # 393717 and proud of it ** Check out www.zenwalk.org
    ** Zenwalk 2.8 - Xfce 4.4 beta 2- 2.6.17.6 kernel = Slack on steroids! **

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    9
    Ah, I meant to type the "tar.gz version", not "tgz version".

    Both lesstif and QT were installed, however, so I will try the package instead.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    77
    If i remember corectly this has something to do with an executable opera-bin and a script opera. I think I just ran opera-bin and it worked. Try "find / -type f | grep opera".

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    9
    Now this begins to make slightly more sense. I tried running it from a console and recieved the following message:

    /usr/lib/opera/8.51-20051114.5/opera: error while loading shared libraries: libqt-mt.so.3: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

    A file of that name does exist on my drive, however.

  8. #7
    Linux User St. Joe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    271
    Quote Originally Posted by Dymitry
    A file of that name does exist on my drive, however.
    That's what it is telling you. It needs the libqt3-mt (or equivilant) package. Or just install the static version of Opera as it will not complain about this missing library.
    It may be that your sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others.

  9. #8
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,429
    No, it means it can't find Qt... So doublecheck you installed it.

    Do $ ls /var/log/packages | grep qt to find out if Qt has been installed.
    ** Registered Linux User # 393717 and proud of it ** Check out www.zenwalk.org
    ** Zenwalk 2.8 - Xfce 4.4 beta 2- 2.6.17.6 kernel = Slack on steroids! **

  10. #9
    Linux User St. Joe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    271
    Quote Originally Posted by borromini
    No, it means it can't find Qt... So doublecheck you installed it.

    Do $ ls /var/log/packages | grep qt to find out if Qt has been installed.
    The OP is running a full install of Slamd64 with a KDE desktop environment. They have QT installed. This could be related to something unique to Slamd64 and would advise you use the static-qt version of Opera until it can be isolated.
    It may be that your sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others.

  11. #10
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,429
    I agree with St Joe.
    ** Registered Linux User # 393717 and proud of it ** Check out www.zenwalk.org
    ** Zenwalk 2.8 - Xfce 4.4 beta 2- 2.6.17.6 kernel = Slack on steroids! **

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •