Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
Well I am using Gaim for some time now but after I recently had to format and reinstall Gentoo, after I got Gaim again it seems to work fine but ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    347

    Gaim


    Well I am using Gaim for some time now but after I recently had to format and reinstall Gentoo, after I got Gaim again it seems to work fine but then if it runs for about 5 minutes it closes by itself. I can be doing something totally different and not even touching Gaim and out of nowhere it just closes itself.

    This is really starting to get on my nerves, (IT JUST DID IT RIGHT NOW AGAIN!) anyone know what can cause this?

    I have tried reinstalling... and I have tried deleting ~/.gaim and saving all the settings again.

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Knoxhell, TN
    Posts
    1,078
    have you tried running it from a terminal to see if it's crashing with an error message?
    Their code will be beautiful, even if their desks are buried in 3 feet of crap. - esr

  3. #3
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    I've had that problem before...I must've recompiled a bazillion times before it started to work, and I'm not sure exactly what made it work...I DID end up turning my CFLAGS down to like -O3 -march=athlon-xp -pipe...that might have helped.
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    347
    I went to the official website and just downloaded it from there. It seemed to work just fine for about 24 hours.. and now it started crashing again..

  6. #5
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Knoxhell, TN
    Posts
    1,078
    did you try dropping your CFLAGS like sarumont suggested? and are you using a stable or unstable release?
    Their code will be beautiful, even if their desks are buried in 3 feet of crap. - esr

  7. #6
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    347
    Quote Originally Posted by lordnothing
    did you try dropping your CFLAGS like sarumont suggested? and are you using a stable or unstable release?
    Stable, I still have to drop the CFLAGS even though I did not get it from the portage?

  8. #7
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Knoxhell, TN
    Posts
    1,078
    quite possibly.. if the CFLAGS env var is set, i *think* gcc reads those.. so you might want to echo $CFLAGS to see...
    Their code will be beautiful, even if their desks are buried in 3 feet of crap. - esr

  9. #8
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    347
    CFLAGS="-O3 -mcpu=i686 -march=pentium4 -pipe" is what I have right now.

  10. #9
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Knoxhell, TN
    Posts
    1,078
    -march=pentium4 is *known* to break stuff.. passes invalid SSE2 instructions.. read make.conf comments for what you should do to fix it...
    Their code will be beautiful, even if their desks are buried in 3 feet of crap. - esr

  11. #10
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    347
    -march=pentium4 I took it away, everything compiled just fine, thing is running for 20 hours and did not crash yet.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •