Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
bash-3.00$ klamav > QLayout "unnamed" added to Klamav "KlamAV ", which > already has a layout > klamav: network error or not set to check for new > klamav > ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    198

    clamav users: i need your help..


    bash-3.00$ klamav
    > QLayout "unnamed" added to Klamav "KlamAV ", which
    > already has a layout
    > klamav: network error or not set to check for new
    > klamav
    > klamav: /home/
    > klamav: /home/ftp/
    > klamav: /home/me/
    > klamav: /home/
    > ERROR: Can't initialize the virus database
    >

    so wats the meaning of the ERROR? is there something wrong in my installation or scan process? ? ? i need some of ur help...

    this command line message appeared after pressing the scan button in clamav's GUI...
    P4 1.8, 1G DDR ram, 64mb GF2 MX400, 80G WD and 40G Maxtor, ECS mobo. Playing XP,Slack 12.0 and Vector Linux 5.8 GOLD, STD 6.0 Zenwalk 4.6.1, OpenBSD 3.9

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer Nerderello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,190
    if you can, open the klamav gui (may be in your systray) and go to the update tab (don't touch the Virus Browser tab. Not yet) . In the Virus Database Directory, find (browse) the correct directory that has your virus database in. Mine is in /home/nerderello/.klamav/database , but yours may be in your root users home directory (/root).

    You may even find that you need to run this as root.

    Nerderello

    Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    198
    w8, i think i have done something wrong... just analyze, when i first opened clamav, a default path of the virus dbase where assumed to be in /home/me/.klamav/database(just like urs) BUT i didnt used it..rather i created a new folder named, klamavdb and make that the path of the virus dbase... (/home/me/klamavdb) coz i havent updated my clamav yet...and i saw the virus directory tab ur talking about...when i checked it, it is empty!!!(coz i have said, i made MY OWN DIRECTORY PATH for the virusdbase) do you mean that the default path given has already a stored dbase on it??? damn!! cn i access that again, how? please help..

    OR i think one option is to really update my virusdbase in able for me to scan ...m i right?
    P4 1.8, 1G DDR ram, 64mb GF2 MX400, 80G WD and 40G Maxtor, ECS mobo. Playing XP,Slack 12.0 and Vector Linux 5.8 GOLD, STD 6.0 Zenwalk 4.6.1, OpenBSD 3.9

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer Nerderello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,190
    Icetea,
    to be honest I don't know. What I did was update Virus Database Directory, and then did an update (I have broadband so this didn't take long) and have been doing daily updates ever since.

    So, sorry, but I can't really help.

    Nerderello

    Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    198
    hmm ok... so wat will i download and save to the directory? is it the main.cvd or the daily.cvd? ? ? OR both? ? ? coz m havin a hard time updating it so m just downloading the lated virusdb...
    P4 1.8, 1G DDR ram, 64mb GF2 MX400, 80G WD and 40G Maxtor, ECS mobo. Playing XP,Slack 12.0 and Vector Linux 5.8 GOLD, STD 6.0 Zenwalk 4.6.1, OpenBSD 3.9

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer Nerderello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,190
    this is what mine looks like :-

    Code:
    1756380 Jan  1 16:27 clamav-0b45345d0815a29b
    96987 Jan 15 22:24 daily.cvd
     2750061 Jan  6 18:30 main.cvd

    sorry I can't be of more help

    Nerderello

    Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

  7. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    198
    where did that came from? ? from wat directory is that?
    P4 1.8, 1G DDR ram, 64mb GF2 MX400, 80G WD and 40G Maxtor, ECS mobo. Playing XP,Slack 12.0 and Vector Linux 5.8 GOLD, STD 6.0 Zenwalk 4.6.1, OpenBSD 3.9

  8. #8
    Linux Engineer Nerderello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,190
    /home/nerderello/.klamav/database

    Nerderello

    Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

  9. #9
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    198
    hmmm have u tried visiting clamav.net? thats the site where it just downloaded the main and daily cvd and copied it in my directory... is this also the same as yours?

    http://www.clamav.net/


    so my virusdbase directory contains 2 items.. the main and daily.cvd.. that's all..
    P4 1.8, 1G DDR ram, 64mb GF2 MX400, 80G WD and 40G Maxtor, ECS mobo. Playing XP,Slack 12.0 and Vector Linux 5.8 GOLD, STD 6.0 Zenwalk 4.6.1, OpenBSD 3.9

  10. #10
    Linux Engineer Nerderello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,190
    I've already posted the three files that are in my folder. See above.

    Nerderello

    Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •