Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 4 of 4
ok I use to be able to edit files with kate but now I have a problem.I dont know what is wrong with it this is what I get Code: ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    33

    How do I fix this


    ok I use to be able to edit files with kate but now I have a problem.I dont know what is wrong with it this is what I get

    Code:
    the-cage:/home/specialist125# kate
    QPixmap: Cannot create a QPixmap when no GUI is being used
    QPixmap: Cannot create a QPixmap when no GUI is being used
    Xlib: connection to ":0.0" refused by server
    Xlib: No protocol specified
    
    kded: cannot connect to X server :0.0
    DCOP aborting call from 'anonymous-7859' to 'kded'
    kded: ERROR: Communication problem with kded, it probably crashed.
    Xlib: connection to ":0.0" refused by server
    Xlib: No protocol specified
    
    kdeinit: Can't connect to the X Server.
    kdeinit: Might not terminate at end of session.
    Xlib: connection to ":0.0" refused by server
    Xlib: No protocol specified
    
    kate: cannot connect to X server :0.0
    DCOP aborting call from 'anonymous-7850' to 'kate'
    kate: ERROR: Communication problem with kate, it probably crashed.
    the-cage:/home/specialist125# Mutex destroy failure: Device or resource busy
    EDIT: code tags added by moderator
    Last edited by loft306; 03-18-2006 at 11:38 PM.

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer Nerderello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,190
    not sure if this has anything to do with your problem, but have a look at your .ICEauthority file in your home folder (ls .ICEauthority -alF). Make sure that it is owned by your normal user and not root.

    Nerderello

    Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer Zelmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Riverton, UT, USA
    Posts
    1,001
    Quote Originally Posted by specialist125
    the-cage:/home/specialist125# kate
    Looks like you're trying to run it from a terminal as root, while the X session is owned by a regular user. You can either set the DISPLAY environment variable (or something like that, other people know more about it than I do) or use sux instead of su to switch users in a terminal.
    Last edited by loft306; 03-18-2006 at 11:37 PM.
    Stand up and be counted as a Linux user!

  4. #4
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    You could also try (as a regular user):
    Code:
    kdesu kate
    This will run kate with root priviledges.

    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •