Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Got it installed...it opens using the neutron skin ( cool! )...but no DVDs play. I haven't tried a CD, yet. I know I have to set up the misc screen, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Yet another mplayer question...

Got it installed...it opens using the neutron skin ( cool! )...but no DVDs play. I haven't tried a CD, yet. I know I have to set up the misc screen, for /dev/scd0 ( it's a Toshiba atapi ), or /mnt/cdrom, or dev/dvd or somesuch , but I'm a newbie, and this is one area that REALLY confuses me, this 'mounting' stuff. Thanks in advance if you can help a recovering Winblows user make any sense of any of this.

By the way, I seem to remember that I got RealPlayer up and running too, by some long, circuitous route...nevermind. Xine is installed and won't play anything, either, but Ogle is great, and works just fine...watched 'Analyze This" last night...somehow I lucked out and set it up right...lol.

I have an ongoing hair-pulling date with DVDRip...it won't recognize fping, vcdimager, nor the subtitleripper ...I posted a more explanatory note on another forum, at http://www.linuxforum.com/forums/ , if anyone has any thoughts.

Keep smileyin'...

Linux User
    Just make a symlink of your cd drive to /dev/dvd. Do that with ln -sf /dev/scd0 /dev/dvd. Ogle is a great program, I use it because mplayer doesn't support dvd menu's yet.

Linux Engineer
    open a terminal
    type su to become root
    type grep -i cdrom /etc/fstab
    fidn the line that has /mnt/cdrom in it. it shoudl have somethig like this dev=/dev/scd0 in it.
    remember/qrite down the /dev/scd0 bit (might be /dev/hdc for you)

right click on the mplayer window and click preferences.
    click the misc tab.
    down the bottom it says what is dvd drive.
    replace /dev/dvd or whateve rit says with the bit u wrote down before.

now it shoudl work when u click play dvd.