Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi Folks... I want to run Mplayer so that I can run files that aren't Real Media files (eg. Mpeg, avi etc etc...you get the drift) My problem is that ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Mplayer - too complicated for a Noob!

Hi Folks...

I want to run Mplayer so that I can run files that aren't Real Media files (eg. Mpeg, avi etc etc...you get the drift)

My problem is that I don't know what the heck I need. I've been running (and supporting Windows for 8/4 years respectively) and am just used to downloading a single file, clicking install and running it! At this stage I'm having issues with my modem at home so I can't just jump on the net to grab whatever else I need. I have to burn stuff to cd at work then take it home)

Could someone tell me, from a reasonably new RH9.0 build what I need?

I went to the Mplayer site and it's file after file, source code, rpm, gui, codec yadda yadda yadda.

I just want a player, with a gui that will play these files and I don't want to spend hours hacking away at it!

Apparently there's some lib files needed and gcc files?

I have RH9 (Shrike) - what is Shrike?
    AMD 1200+ with 256MB Ram
    GeForce2 Video Card (64MB)

I so very much want to learn Linux - but it's so confusing!!

Thanks for your patience and help!

Linux Engineer
    Suggest you install Xine.
    I had virtually the same system as you and it works fine. I could never get Mplayer to work.

Follow the instructions here

http://cambuca.ldhs.cetuc.puc-rio.br/xine/
    Lansbury's Lido

thekiadriver on #linuxforums - fleetingly

Just Joined!
    Thanks, I'll give it a whirl when I get home tonight!

I had attempted a Xine install, but floundered after getting frustrated (but the site you gave looks like it'll help lots!) and tried MPlayer...

Will let you know how I got on!

Just Joined!