Find the answer to your Linux question:
Im new to linux and wanted to install knapster and a few other programs to my system. I followed the installation instructions in the uncompressed folder by typing ./configure at ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Compiling Knapster (And other programs)

Im new to linux and wanted to install knapster and a few other programs to my system. I followed the installation instructions in the uncompressed folder by typing ./configure at the terminal prompt. It went through its check and OK'd everything untill it gave me an error saying that there was no acceptable c compiler found in $path. I am running redhat 8.0 and have pasted the exact screen below:

[root@localhost knapster2-0.5]# ./configure
    checking build system type... i686-pc-linux-gnuoldld
    checking host system type... i686-pc-linux-gnuoldld
    checking target system type... i686-pc-linux-gnuoldld
    checking for a BSD-compatible install... /usr/bin/install -c
    checking for -p flag to install... yes
    checking whether build environment is sane... yes
    checking for gawk... gawk
    checking whether make sets ${MAKE}... yes
    checking for style of include used by make... GNU
    checking for gcc... no
    checking for cc... no
    checking for cc... no
    checking for cl... no
    configure: error: no acceptable C compiler found in $PATH
    [root@localhost knapster2-0.5]#

How can I correct this problem so I can install this program and others. I get a screeen similar to this when trying to install other programs such as Mplayer.

Linux Engineer
    Install gcc

Linux Engineer
    BTW, is your nick supposed to represent a honda?

Just Joined!
    Ok, I have gcc and will try installing it.