Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Hi, I am trying to uninstall LICQ but when I type the command this is what I get... any ideas? rpm -e licq error: cannot get exclusive lock on /var/lib/rpm/Packages ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    3

    uninstalling licq


    Hi,

    I am trying to uninstall LICQ but when I type the command this is what I get... any ideas?

    rpm -e licq
    error: cannot get exclusive lock on /var/lib/rpm/Packages
    error: cannot open Packages index using db3 - Operation not permitted (1)
    error: cannot oepn Packages database in /var/lib/rpm


    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    You need to be root.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    3
    I have tried logging in as root, when I do the terminal window doesn't seem to do anything after I type the command no matter how long I leave it for.. the only way to get back to the prompt is with ctrl-z

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    I know that problem. It has happened to me twice and seems to be in the RPM code. It sleeps indefinitely trying to aquire a lock on the RPM database. The first time it happened I only had to reboot the system and it would work again. The second time that wasn't enough, though. I don't remember how I fixed it then, however.

  6. #5
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Lebanon, pa
    Posts
    994
    Ugg, I would hate to have to reboot a production server to get rpm to work correctly.

  7. #6
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    San Antonio
    Posts
    621
    try to strace it, see what lockfile it is trying to create/modify, then delete it and retry the command.
    I respectfully decline the invitation to join your delusion.

  8. #7
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    I've already tried stracing an rpm process in that state. Maybe this isn't really the same situation, but for me it just kept selecting with NULL fd_sets. (No wonder no fd got selected...)
    I haven't really examined it very thoroughly, but I'd guess that you need the source to debug it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •