Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
How, in XFCE4, do you take a screen shot? For somereason, it does not let me take in with the print screen button on my keyboard. Is there some special ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Ont. Canada
    Posts
    52

    XFCE4 and Screenshots


    How, in XFCE4, do you take a screen shot? For somereason, it does not let me take in with the print screen button on my keyboard. Is there some special trick?

    Also, how, while runnig XFCE4, do I switch to a virtual console. I can't seem to switch to one once XFCE has started.

  2. #2
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    I use ImageMagick for screenshots with Xfce4 and get them through manual commands such as:

    Code:
    import -window root screenshot.png
    oz

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer psic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    1,205
    Another option to take screenshots is with The Gimp. Select 'file->acquire->screenshot'. You can select between just getting a single window, or the full screen. Also, you can set a time-delay.

  4. #4
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Ont. Canada
    Posts
    52
    Thank you. I used the imagemagic method and it worked. And thanks for the links too, I will read them over later.

    I could not find the gimp option though.

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Ont. Canada
    Posts
    52
    Oh yeah, the console problem. Anybody know it?

  7. #7
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Quote Originally Posted by Craige
    Oh yeah, the console problem. Anybody know it?
    Switching to virtual console?
    CTRL-ALT-F1, CTRL-ALT-F2, etc.
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Ont. Canada
    Posts
    52
    Quote Originally Posted by antidrugue
    Switching to virtual console?
    CTRL-ALT-F1, CTRL-ALT-F2, etc.
    Yeah, I know the keys, but it doesn't work.

  9. #9
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Quote Originally Posted by Craige
    Yeah, I know the keys, but it doesn't work.
    I don't see how this is related to XFCE4. You might want to check that your /etc/inittab file is in right order then.
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •