Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
Ok, so I've finally got those 2 files installed in Konsole without any problems. But now, I'm getting a tiny bit of confusion here. Since both of the files are ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    6

    WineSetupTK and Wine installed. What next?


    Ok, so I've finally got those 2 files installed in Konsole without any problems. But now, I'm getting a tiny bit of confusion here. Since both of the files are completely installed, there are 2 filenames called install-sh and wineinstall. The folder that I've made is called wine-20040213. That's the folder that I've extracted to the Home Directory and then I go to tools folder. Therefore, I see install-sh and wineinstall in that folder, but I don't know how to install them by using some kind of command in Terminal. Does anyone know how to do it? Any support would be greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    All you have to do is go to the directory that you extracted them to and type either ./wineinstall or ./install-sh to run either of those scripts. The functions of these scripts should be described in a README in the same folder. Check that out to figure out which one you wnat to use.
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    6
    Understood. Thanks sarumont.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    6
    Still, no luck with the installation. It says 'You are running this from the wrong directory'
    Like you stated, I've put '/home/Wine/tools/wineinstall'
    and it gives me the error.
    And for install-sh, I've put '/home/Wine/tools/install-sh'
    And the error says 'no input file specified'
    None of those 2 files will proceed to install. I wasn't lucky enough to succeed for the installation. Eventually, I won't be able to play my Win32 games if I don't get this done.

  6. #5
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    Try this:

    Code:
    cd /home/Wine/tools
    ./wineinstall
    That *should* work.
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bucharest - RO
    Posts
    64
    and if i get this reply what should i do ?!
    • configure: creating cache config.cache
      checking build system type... i686-pc-linux-gnu
      checking host system type... i686-pc-linux-gnu
      checking whether make sets $(MAKE)... yes
      checking for gcc... no
      checking for cc... no
      checking for cc... no
      checking for cl... no
      configure: error: no acceptable C compiler found in $PATH
      See `config.log' for more details.

  8. #7
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Farnborough, UK
    Posts
    1,305
    You need to install gcclib.
    Lansbury's Lido

    thekiadriver on #linuxforums - fleetingly

  9. #8
    Linux Enthusiast Opnosforatou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Vleuten, The Netherlands
    Posts
    552
    Quote Originally Posted by ducu13
    and if i get this reply what should i do ?!
    • configure: creating cache config.cache
      checking build system type... i686-pc-linux-gnu
      checking host system type... i686-pc-linux-gnu
      checking whether make sets $(MAKE)... yes
      checking for gcc... no
      checking for cc... no
      checking for cc... no
      checking for cl... no
      configure: error: no acceptable C compiler found in $PATH
      See `config.log' for more details.
    Install the development package.
    You'll need the GCC compiler and the various libraries.
    U running slack or RH/Fedora ?

    [ For RH/Fedora only ]
    Use Synaptic with APT to get all the latest packages you need. For mor info on APT and Synaptic check here
    Otherwise you the Add/Remove programs feature found under System Config [ When using Gnome ]
    And select the development package in the list, this will install all needed files at once from you CD's,
    ---[ MS09-99896 - Vulnerability in All MS Windows OS ; Using Windows Could Allow Remote Code Execution. ]---
    Hardware: Asus P4P800, 1GB, P4-3Ghz, Asus V9950, Maxtor ATA HD\'s, 3Com GBit lan, Audigy ZS Plat.

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bucharest - RO
    Posts
    64
    the thing is that ,like i have already said , my redhat is f...ed up and if i open the add/remove aplication it freezes
    sorry for my trivial expression but i`m going with my redhat...we`ll talk after i download it and reinstall ...I`ve found that something is going wrong with my distribution

  11. #10
    Linux Enthusiast Opnosforatou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Vleuten, The Netherlands
    Posts
    552
    sorry to hear that, going to upgrade to Fedora Core 1 ?
    ---[ MS09-99896 - Vulnerability in All MS Windows OS ; Using Windows Could Allow Remote Code Execution. ]---
    Hardware: Asus P4P800, 1GB, P4-3Ghz, Asus V9950, Maxtor ATA HD\'s, 3Com GBit lan, Audigy ZS Plat.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •