Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
hi... im a linux newbie... i've downloaded openoffice in my native language and i dont know how to install it...... its extention is ".sh" and it weights 110MB... tnx...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    39

    i dont know how to install .sh extention


    hi...
    im a linux newbie...

    i've downloaded openoffice in my native language and i dont know how to install it......
    its extention is ".sh" and it weights 110MB...

    tnx

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Hi !!

    .sh means a shell script......
    execute on terminal using 'sh'

    $ sh <package.sh>


    .... casper ....
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    39
    if i've putted the file in the "minizero's home" folder...

    so..
    what should i write if the file's name is:
    oOo_2.0.1_he_install_linux_rpm_20060402.sh

    ??

    should i enter the terminal and write:
    $ sh <oOo_2.0.1_he_install_linux_rpm_20060402.sh>
    ??
    plz explain me... i hardly know what is the terminal.. and i still trying to figure how the directory/file system works.....

    and another thing.... i've found the windows directory.. and it says that i dont have premission to write.... how do i change it... if its possible..

  4. #4
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    home is your working directory when you open a terminal.so yes type
    sh oOo_2.0.1_he_install_linux_rpm_20060402.sh

    if you have automounted windows partition and if is ntfs..you cannot write with it .for writing into ntfs you need special modules...check this
    http://www.jankratochvil.net/project/captive/

    if is fat than change umsk permissions in /etc/fsatb

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    39
    its worked... now it extracted a lot of rpm files..... i need to install them one by one?

  6. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    i think this script is for installation only.... did you get README file with it ???


    .... casper ....
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    39
    no...................................

  8. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    okkkk.........

    install rpm......

    $ rpm -ivh <rpm file>


    .... casper ....
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    39
    when i tryied to install the rpm.. it said
    "error: can't create transaction lock on /var/lib/rpm/__db.000"

  10. #10
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Post or Attach the script here..... let me see whats in it.....




    .... casper ....
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •