Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
anyine use screen that could give me a hand? looking to split my terminal screen in 2. but im not following the docs to well, maybe just too tired....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    41

    lil screen help


    anyine use screen that could give me a hand? looking to split my terminal screen in 2. but im not following the docs to well, maybe just too tired.

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    San Antonio
    Posts
    621
    I looked for this too, but I don't think I found it. It does seem like a good idea though.
    I respectfully decline the invitation to join your delusion.

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Lebanon, pa
    Posts
    994
    What exactly don't you understand? You just run screen and can use ctrl+a to switch between windows.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Apparently, you can split the window with C-a S (uppercase S), but I haven't found how to get anything in the new window.

  6. #5
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Lebanon, pa
    Posts
    994
    Ahh I didn't know you could split it. I would rather have the extra space and just flip between screens then splitting the term into 2.

  7. #6
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Yeah, me too, but that's just generally. Sometimes it might be useful to use one screen as reference for something, like displaying a man page in it and using the shell in the other.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    41
    cool thanks, i was looking to switch between screen (flip flopping) normally, but splitting it up, when installing something. I mostly use a putty window from work or ssh from other lin machines. it would make it easier.

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    13
    Okay its an old posting but if anyone still wants to know how to split screen,here's what you do.

    start screen:
    Code:
    screen
    Split screen
    Code:
    Control + a then push S (capitol s)
    Move to new split screen
    Code:
    Control + a then tab key
    Create new window in new split screen
    Code:
    Control + a then c
    Screen is an amazing app that i'm just begining to learn.

    If you're not familiar with screen then check it out here:http://www.gnu.org/software/software.html


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •