Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 19 of 19
Originally Posted by antidrugue That's probably because you used Azureus with Fedora Core 5 default java. Azureus rely on java, and it performs horibly with GCJ. You MUST use Sun's ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    180

    Quote Originally Posted by antidrugue
    That's probably because you used Azureus with Fedora Core 5 default java.

    Azureus rely on java, and it performs horibly with GCJ. You MUST use Sun's Java to get it working properly.
    Oh that would be the difference! Installing Sun's Java was one of the first things that I did, and I had no problems with azureus.

  2. #12
    Linux Newbie unchiujar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    194
    How do I tell if Auzreus is using GCJ or Sun's Java? I vaguely remember installing java from sun but it might not be setup up properly.

  3. #13
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Check out the output of
    Code:
    java -version
    to know which version is used.
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Linux Newbie unchiujar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    194
    I installed Sun's Java, and then linked java from /usr/java/jre1.5.0_09/bin/java to /usr/bin

    In
    /usr/bin

    ln -s /usr/java/jre1.5.0_09/bin/java
    ln -s /usr/java/jre1.5.0_09/bin/java_vm
    ln -s /usr/java/jre1.5.0_09/bin/javaws

    Now when I run Azureus it spurts out error messages.

    azureus

    changeLocale: *Default Language* != English (United States). Searching without country..
    changeLocale: Searching for language English in *any* country..
    changeLocale: no message properties for Locale 'English (United States)' (en_US), using 'English (default)'
    Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: org/bouncycastle/jce/spec/ECParameterSpec
    at com.aelitis.azureus.core.security.impl.CryptoManag erImpl.<init>(CryptoManagerImpl.java:75)
    at com.aelitis.azureus.core.security.impl.CryptoManag erImpl.getSingleton(CryptoManagerImpl.java:60)
    at com.aelitis.azureus.core.security.CryptoManagerFac tory.getSingleton(CryptoManagerFactory.java:33)
    at com.aelitis.azureus.core.impl.AzureusCoreImpl.<ini t>(AzureusCoreImpl.java:155)
    at com.aelitis.azureus.core.impl.AzureusCoreImpl.crea te(AzureusCoreImpl.java:92)
    at com.aelitis.azureus.core.AzureusCoreFactory.create (AzureusCoreFactory.java:46)
    at org.gudy.azureus2.ui.swt.Main.<init>(Main.java:143 )
    at org.gudy.azureus2.ui.swt.Main.main(Main.java:162)

    Do I need to recompile Azureus with Sun' Java SDK ?

  6. #15
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Quote Originally Posted by unchiujar
    I installed Sun's Java, and then linked java from /usr/java/jre1.5.0_09/bin/java to /usr/bin

    In
    /usr/bin

    ln -s /usr/java/jre1.5.0_09/bin/java
    ln -s /usr/java/jre1.5.0_09/bin/java_vm
    ln -s /usr/java/jre1.5.0_09/bin/javaws
    Doing that is not enough : the output of
    Code:
    java -version
    will confirm it.

    You have to set the right java in /etc/alternatives :
    Code:
    ln -sf /usr/java/jre1.5.0_09/bin/java /etc/alternatives/java
    should do the trick.

    Always check the output of "java -version" to make sure.
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  7. #16
    Linux Newbie unchiujar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    194
    I still have the same problem with azureus (errors).

    java -version
    java version "1.5.0_09"
    Java(TM) 2 Runtime Environment, Standard Edition (build 1.5.0_09-b03)
    Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (build 1.5.0_09-b03, mixed mode, sharing)

    Worked before I did the last linking ln -sf /usr/java/jre1.5.0_09/bin/java /etc/alternatives/java

  8. #17
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Well, must be something else then. How did you install Azureus ? Did you use the binary tarball from Azureus' site ?
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  9. #18
    Linux Newbie unchiujar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    194
    It seems I hijacked this thread Hope nobody minds
    I don't remember how I installed Azureus.
    Delete + Reinstall then

  10. #19
    Linux Newbie unchiujar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    194
    Ok,
    Deleted,
    reinstalled
    did not help

    One thing I noticed though is that when I deleted Azureus yum said it was 20 mb in size and when I installed it, it said it is 11 mb in size. Huh? And it was the same version. Maybe I should mention I upgraded to FC6 from FC6 test4 from FC5. I didn't do a clean install.
    I don't care that much about azureus, but I would like to know why it's not working.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •