Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Hi all, I have just installed Redhat 7.3 with kde 3.0.0-10 and i want to use vnc server so i can bring up a remote desktop on my windows machine. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    3

    VNC server


    Hi all,

    I have just installed Redhat 7.3 with kde 3.0.0-10 and i want to use vnc server so i can bring up a remote desktop on my windows machine.
    I have started the vnc server service and xinetd but when i use the vnc client to connect i just the the error message "Failed to connect to server"
    Network connectivity is ok as i can ping and telnet to the machine.
    I am just a newbie to linux so any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks in advance.
    vone

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Lebanon, pa
    Posts
    994
    Make sure you don't have a firewall blocking the port and you are connecting to the correct port with the client.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    3
    I dont have a firewall installed. I unchecked it during the install.

    Also i dont think it could be the firwall because then the telnet port would be blocked too.

    Any further ideas?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    I know this seems really simple, but I guess I'll have to check just to make sure: Are you sure that you don't accidently try to connect to localhost with the VNC client, ie. just typing :0 as the display instead of hostname:0 (where hostname, is, of course, the host that's running the VNC server).

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    3
    Yeh,

    I have just been using the ip address. ie 192.168.0.5:0
    Thats right isnt it? as thats the way i have always done it with my windows vnc server.

    Is there actually a GUI for the vnc server somewhere?

  7. #6
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Check with vncviewer on the VNC server machine so that you can connect to it from there.
    Also, check so that it really is :0. As I remember it, the VNC X server runs with the same VNC display number as its X display number.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Madison, WI.
    Posts
    36
    by default, the first display number you get when launching vncserver ON LINUX is :1

    You'll connect through port 5901 I believe

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    41
    it sounds like you all have the problem solved, but one thing that first cause me a lot of problems was my router port also needed to be forwarded.

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Brunei
    Posts
    1

    HOW TO install VNC SERVER on Linux

    hello guys,

    i newbie about linux. my linux use redhat 9.0. i try to install the VNC server on linux by using this command [b]rpm -i vnc-3.3.7-2.i3886.rpm. when i use that command, there is nothing happen. no installation occur.

    why i cant install the VNC server. any 1 willing to help me

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •