Find the answer to your Linux question:

View Poll Results: Dou you have Flash player installed on your Linux box?

Voters
15. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    10 66.67%
  • No

    3 20.00%
  • Yes, but it crashes...

    2 13.33%
  • No, but I will

    0 0%
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
Hello, I have a little problem that havent be able to find a solution. I downloaded and installed Flash player 6 for Linux. When I loaded a Flash animation in ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    12

    Opera Linux crashes with Flash


    Hello, I have a little problem that havent be able to find a solution. I downloaded and installed Flash player 6 for Linux. When I loaded a Flash animation in Opera (7.23 spanish), the browser hanged. I tested with other pages, same problem; I tested if Mozilla had problems, but this one runs Flash very well. I searched the net and several forums, with no results.

    My config: Debian Linux 3.0 r2 - Opera 7.23 spanish - Flash player 6 for Linux
    PII400Mhz -128MB Ram

    Thanks!

    PS:By the way, I dont like Mozilla, so to use it instead of Opera, is not an option.

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast scientica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    South- or "Mid-" Sweden
    Posts
    742
    I've had problems with flash and mozilla (Phoenix, Firebird and Firefox, too). I think that the flash plug in is/might be buggy, and thus there isn't much more than to hope it will work. :/
    Regards Scienitca (registered user #335819 - http://counter.li.org )
    --
    A master is nothing more than a student who knows something of which he can teach to other students.

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,296
    I used to have flash installed but i removed it soon after instalaion even though it worked fine.. it just made the internet a much more annoying place. All of a sudden all those websites that i block images from have got flash plasterd all over.. My reccomendation is to avoid installing flash and to avoid useing it on any websites you create.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by variant
    My reccomendation is to avoid installing flash and to avoid useing it on any websites you create.
    I am 100% with you, but there are sites that unfortunately uses Flash so extensively that it is impossible even to enter without it, and there are some not only interesting sites with Flash, but some that I need to use (the government of my country LOVES Flash, so its sites...); and some of my clients ask me for Flash in their sites, so I am hand tied.

    I dont think the Flash plugin is broken, because it works on Mozilla (for me at least). Thanks for the comments, and I welcome more advice.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    2

    Re: Opera Linux crashes with Flash

    Quote Originally Posted by alvaro
    Hello, I have a little problem that havent be able to find a solution. I downloaded and installed Flash player 6 for Linux. When I loaded a Flash animation in Opera (7.23 spanish), the browser hanged. I tested with other pages, same problem; I tested if Mozilla had problems, but this one runs Flash very well. I searched the net and several forums, with no results.

    My config: Debian Linux 3.0 r2 - Opera 7.23 spanish - Flash player 6 for Linux
    PII400Mhz -128MB Ram

    Thanks!

    PS:By the way, I dont like Mozilla, so to use it instead of Opera, is not an option.
    hello,
    i have exactly the same problem! opera just crashes when i try to run flash animations. But works fine with mozilla. I use Opera 7.23 eng and Flash player 6, Debian.

    please doese anyone knows how to fix this?

  6. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    173
    I installed flash for Mozilla and Opera. Mozilla can run flash without problems, but Opera won't even play flash files. Opera detects the flash plugins, but they just don't work. Dunno why.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    12
    I dont wanna be unrespectful, but can anyone stop to post "me too" replies? I am looking for an answer to this proble or a lead to a solution, not moral support knowing I am not alone. I already wrote in my first post the problem in detail, the issues with Opera and not Mozilla, etc.

    Please post when you have something valuable to share; I know the "me too" replies can help to call attention on some gurus that might have the answer, but one or two of those posts I think is enough to make the point.

  8. #8
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    I have flash installed with firefox and it works great for strongbad (the only reason to have flash).

    BUT with opera, it just didn't work. It didn't crash, though...just never acted like it was there.
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    2
    Make sure you have all required libraries installed. Go to /usr/lib/opera/plugins and type ldd libflashplayer.so and ldd operamotifwrapper-2 to see what libraries are missing. On my debian system i missed libXm.so.2 file, installing libmotif library (apt-get install libmotif) solved the problem.

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Northwestern New Jersey
    Posts
    72
    Well, if i remember correctly, I had a problem with it on MDK 10 (RC1) because of some type of bug that it had. Sadly I forget what the fix was, plus you're using Debian, so that would be irrelivent now anyways. The only real idea's I can recommend are to make sure the libraries are in the correct places, and that Opera is aimed towards those correct directories. In cases I've found, Opera would not be looking in the right places for it and had trouble working at all.

    I doubt this will solve your problem, and is probably a bug, but maybe you can update Opera? They do have 7.5 now I believe.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •