Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
This is really strange for me because I love firefox to death and have never had an issue with it (except Window$ trying to tell me it was a virus) ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie dalinux_n00bie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    226

    Issue with FireFox


    This is really strange for me because I love firefox to death and have never had an issue with it (except Window$ trying to tell me it was a virus) untill now. When ever I try to change a setting or try to access the HD in any way, whither through an Extention or through the change a setting, or to upload a picture, It shuts down. what could be going on?
    "Do or do not...there is no try" -Yoda
    History is a set of lies agreed upon by the winners.
    Linux is user friendly, not idiot friendly.
    Linux User 437442

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Vergil83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,407
    Try running firefox from the command line and see if any errors are printed
    Brilliant Mediocrity - Making Failure Look Good

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie dalinux_n00bie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    226
    Here is what i get:


    /usr/lib/firefox/firefox-bin: Symbol `SSL_ImplementedCiphers' has different size in shared object, consider re-linking
    [Exception... "Component returned failure code: 0x80004005 (NS_ERROR_FAILURE) [nsIStringBundle.formatStringFromName]" nsresult: "0x80004005 (NS_ERROR_FAILURE)" location: "JS frame :: file:///usr/lib/firefox/components/nsSessionStartup.js :: sss_doRecoverSession :: line 272" data: no]
    "Do or do not...there is no try" -Yoda
    History is a set of lies agreed upon by the winners.
    Linux is user friendly, not idiot friendly.
    Linux User 437442

  4. #4
    Linux Guru Vergil83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,407
    try running ldconfig (as root) then try firefox again
    try removing all extensions and then try again

    Did it ever work (or did this just start)? How did you install firefox?
    Brilliant Mediocrity - Making Failure Look Good

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie dalinux_n00bie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    226
    Still doing the same thing, I can start it all the time, and this has been a problem sence I installed it VIA YAST in SLED 10
    "Do or do not...there is no try" -Yoda
    History is a set of lies agreed upon by the winners.
    Linux is user friendly, not idiot friendly.
    Linux User 437442

  6. #6
    Linux Guru Vergil83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,407
    You might try uninstalling and reinstalling it again
    Brilliant Mediocrity - Making Failure Look Good

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •