Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
I just recently began using linux for more than just browsing the internet (I am currently running ubuntu). I learned how to install programs with synaptic package manager, but they ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User cheesecake42's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    370

    question about synaptic package manager


    I just recently began using linux for more than just browsing the internet (I am currently running ubuntu). I learned how to install programs with synaptic package manager, but they are not showing up in the application menu. Any ideas of what the problem might be? Using the add/remove under the applications menu works, but I can't access repositories that way.

  2. #2
    Linux User Oxygen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Hartlepool, England
    Posts
    392
    Have you tried running the programs in the console?
    Graham - You'd better Use Linux!

    I'm registerd Linux user #397030. What about you?

  3. #3
    Linux User cheesecake42's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    370
    console? is that the terminal? sorry, i'm fairly new to this.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined! Chitty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Caracas, Venezuela
    Posts
    45
    Yes it is!

  6. #5
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    sometimes packages appear in Menu after reboot. reboot your machine.






    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #6
    drl
    drl is offline
    Linux Engineer drl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Saint Paul, MN, USA / CentOS, Debian, Slackware, {Free, Open, Net}BSD, Solaris
    Posts
    1,303
    Hi, devils_casper.
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper
    sometimes packages appear in Menu after reboot. reboot your machine.
    Casper
    That doesn't seem very Linux-like -- I really dislike re-booting, and I don't much like even re-logging (in and out). Have you seen situations like that? A specific example, perhaps? ... cheers, drl
    Welcome - get the most out of the forum by reading forum basics and guidelines: click here.
    90% of questions can be answered by using man pages, Quick Search, Advanced Search, Google search, Wikipedia.
    We look forward to helping you with the challenge of the other 10%.
    ( Mn, 2.6.n, AMD-64 3000+, ASUS A8V Deluxe, 1 GB, SATA + IDE, Matrox G400 AGP )

  8. #7
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Quote Originally Posted by drl
    That doesn't seem very Linux-like -- I really dislike re-booting, and I don't much like even re-logging (in and out). Have you seen situations like that? A specific example, perhaps? ... cheers, drl
    most common example is 'xmms'. most of time it doesn't appear in Menu after installation. you have to reboot or logout atleast.
    rest depends on distro and installation method.




    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #8
    Linux User cheesecake42's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    370
    i installed xmms using the add/remove feature and it was accessable through the menu immediately.

  10. #9
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Quote Originally Posted by cheesecake42
    i installed xmms using the add/remove feature and it was accessable through the menu immediately.
    i wrote 'most of the time', not 'always' !
    Please search forums. you will a lot of threads having problems like this.




    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  11. #10
    Linux User cheesecake42's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    370
    i figured it out; I wasn't looking in the right place. I'm a retard thanks for all the help

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •