Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
XP crashed 2 days ago, so I grabbed my (spare) SUSE Linux hard drive and I'm online, via that. KDE is my whatever-they-call-it. This Linux HD has a copy of ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie pcdoctor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Barbados, Caribbean.
    Posts
    203

    XP crashed 2 days ago, so I grabbed my (spare) SUSE Linux hard drive
    and I'm online, via that. KDE is my whatever-they-call-it.

    This Linux HD has a copy of Firefox 1.0.6 (but it works!)
    however I'd LOVE to upgrade to Ffx 2.0

    Downloaded the Firefox2-for-Linux today, and now I'm looking at a file of 9.2 Megs size
    with a name from outer space, i.e. a Gzipper Tar Archive (can I eat that?)
    named Firefox 2.0.0.-1.tar.gz (it coulda bin named Firefox Installer, but that would be too easy).

    I'm assuming that this is some kinda compressed/shrouded/encased file for internet transport only,
    and I now need to uncompress it, get it out of its wrapping,
    so I can get at the Installer locked inside.?

    I've managed to 'evolve' it into a copy of Ffx 2.0.0.1-tar.gz.zip (also 9.2 Megs) for what that's worth.
    Did an 'Actions' thing on it, and managed to use ARK to explode it into a million components of curious names,
    hoping to find something simple and obvious and XP-like,
    perhaps named Firefox2 SETUP.exe...but you guessed it...too easy.!

    Obviously,I'm on waaaay the wrong path...

    and so, here I am, 57 years old,
    11 yrs. of computing experience under my belt
    (5 yrs. with Mac,when it was v.7.1 up to 9.5.5)
    and another 6 yrs. PeeCee Windoze stuff,
    and can't upgrade Firefox for Linux.
    How hard can it BE ? (don't answer that)

    Be gentle with me. Lead me thru this step by step.
    I'm an idiot. a complete idiot.
    No cryptic instructions, please.
    Assume I know NOthing as you attempt to guide me.

    This is my umpteenth dabble with Linux,
    God how I'd love to kick the PeeCee outa bed and go with Linux,
    but Linux insists, to the day on being DD.

    DD? Deliberately Dorky.
    Linux..the system that could take over the world if it wanted to,
    but frankly I suspect they get much delight in staying DD.
    Oh well, it's their choice
    and yet I can't install Firefox on Linux! GO, Linux!!


    Please...anyone...sort me out, huh?

    Hoping to hear from you,soon
    but now I'm on my way to the Logitech drivers site
    to see if I can get a driver to make my headset work for Skype.
    Wish me luck, not with finding it, but in downloading and installing it.
    Thanks for listening.

  2. #2
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Here's a Linux software installation HowTo that should help you get things going:

    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/lin...are-linux.html
    oz

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie pcdoctor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Barbados, Caribbean.
    Posts
    203
    Why isn't there simply an INSTALL button for me to left-click on, somewhere?
    Why must any Linux operation like installation always be difficult?
    -----------------------------------
    Thanks for the help files,etc., but it's all Greek to me,honestly!
    I see nothing aimed at SUSE and Firefox..
    and I was never any good at DOS-type command lines, etc.

    My one hope for EVER getting Linux running in human-relevant form is UBUNTU
    - a friend told me it's real easy, user-friendly.
    I'm hoping.

    I'll get Linux working one day...
    heck I've still got another 25 years left in me yet!

  4. #4
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Rather than use a tarball (tar.gz) file, you'd probably be better off going to the opensuse site and grabbing the firefox RPM file for your suse version:

    http://software.opensuse.org/download/mozilla/

    ...then use YAST to install the package.

    I don't run suse, so I'm unable to give any specifics for using YAST.
    oz

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie pcdoctor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Barbados, Caribbean.
    Posts
    203
    Many thanks for the pointer re. disregarding the tar thing and going elsewhere
    - I went to the url you provided to see a short list of (files?)
    not knowing which one was supposed to mean anything to me,
    but I did notice some Suse Linux numbers (software versions?) up in the 9s and 10s,
    and I knew full well I have a SUSE version a lot less than that.

    So I went poking around.
    Found YAST, and had a poke around in there and
    reading a boot log or sumpn,
    seem to have come up with a version of KDE = 3.2.1
    Release 2.6.5-7.155.29-default (geeko@buildhost) gcc version 3.3.3

    and a version of Suse kernel 2.6.5......same number above.

    It's bad, isn't it?

    Compared to the versions 9 and 10 I see at the website you sent me to,
    I thought it best to let you know what antiquated version of SUSE I'm dealing with,
    before messing things up rather than improving them!

    ................

    If I'm cool to go ahead and select one of the half-doz 'things' I see listed at the URL you gave, which one do I get?

    Sorry to be such an idiot about all this.

    David H,
    Barbados(Caribbean!)
    __________________________________________________ ______

  6. #6
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Trying to use Firefox 2 with an older version of Suse might cause you some grief...

    According to the Firefox website you need at least the following hardware and Linux files for Firefox 2:

    Linux
    Minimum System Requirements

    * 233 Mhz processor
    * 64 MB of RAM
    * 50 MB of free disk space
    * Linux kernel 2.2.14 (with glibc 2.3.2, XFree86-3.3.6, gtk+2.0, fontconfig/xft and libstdc++5)
    If your system doesn't meet that, I'd suggest upgrading to a later version of suse before worrying about upgrading the browser.
    oz

  7. #7
    Linux Newbie pcdoctor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Barbados, Caribbean.
    Posts
    203
    Quote Originally Posted by ozar
    Trying to use Firefox 2 with an older version of Suse might cause you some grief...

    According to the Firefox website you need at least the following hardware and Linux files for Firefox 2:



    If your system doesn't meet that, I'd suggest upgrading to a later version of suse before worrying about upgrading the browser.
    Okay: thanks for your comments. I take it I have an elderly version of SUSE here,
    - but to be honest, Ffx 1.0.6 is chugging along okay, no problems,
    it's just that I know it's way outdated...but I'll keep it as is, for now, given your comment!

    My System is.
    * 2.4 GHz. Pentium 4
    * 512 Megs of RAM on the board
    * 80 Gig HDD, less than half-full (and when I was running XP, I was good about keeping System litter down to a low roar,
    so the HDD is in a reasonably healthy state)
    * my SUSE kernel is 2.6.5 so I'm not that bad (although it could be a helluva lot better, I know).

    Thanks for your help.
    I'm not going to update SUSE, because once I get the XP system repaired and up and running again,
    I think I'll wipe this Maxtor 40 Gb. SUSE HD, and try the Ubuntu thing I spoke about earlier, hoping for an easier time with that
    (plus it'll be right up to date).

    Thanks again,man.

  8. #8
    Linux Newbie pcdoctor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Barbados, Caribbean.
    Posts
    203
    Well.. I wiped the 40 Gb. HD and put Ubu6.06 on it.

    Nice system, just don't try installing anything on it(other than Skype)
    without a computer science degree and much knowledge of,
    and liking for, DOS (it seems).

    After a week of fighting with 6.06 and only one screen resolution
    (problems with ATI Radeon 9550 v.card!),
    and only one screen refresh rate (60)
    ...Jeez, that HD got wiped again, and this time Ubu 6.10 went on.

    Now I have TWO screen resolutions and two refresh rates
    (God is on my side,I'm beginning to think!)

    Now, I actually have Skype installed(without the Skype window playing tricks)

    It hasn't been easy, but then it's not supposed to be:
    this IS Linux, remember?

    Thank God for the asistance of my seriously-geek computer friend
    who will take a bit of a challenge now and then.
    Were it not for him, I woulda given up LONG ago!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •