Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi everyone, I know that I am not the only one who has had Mplayer problems. I am a newbie and have tried reading the articles on the internet, various ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Not able to play streaming media through Mplayer in Mandriva Powerpack 2007

Hi everyone, I know that I am not the only one who has had Mplayer problems. I am a newbie and have tried reading the articles on the internet, various forums like mandrivausers.org and linuxquestions.org, but I have not been able to solve my problem. I will provide a description of the problem I face regarding Mplayer.

I am using Firefox 2.0.0.1 and Opera 9.1. I have mplayer-1.0-1.pre8.13plf2007.0 and mplayerplugin-3.25-2mdv2007.0 installed. When I try to open any streaming video (for example on cbsnews.com), I get the error "Could not find an appropriate hxplay or realplay in the system path to use as an embedded player". Let me mention here that the error message I am getting now has changed from what I used to get. This is because I had uninstalled mplayer and mozplugger. I did not remove other files related to these applications if they were not taken care of during the unistallation as I didn't know where they would be. Anyways, before uninstallation, the error I used to get was "Mozplugger: No appropriate application found." After reinstalling the above mentioned versions of mplayer and mplayerplugin (and of course mozplugger), the error message has changed. I have copied the codecs and other *.so files from and to /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins, /usr/lib/mozilla firefox 2/plugins, etc. but I haven't found the solution. I would greatly appreciate if I can get help regarding this. I would be glad to start everything from scratch too if it can help in solving this problem. I am posting the output of a command I found over the internet to let you know what I have installed with regards to mplayer: