Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Hi, I have a problem in logging thru telnet on RHEL 4 system . The o/p of rpm -qa | grep telnet shows the following, telnet-0.17-31.EL4.3 Secondly when I run ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    4

    problem with telnet on RHEL 4


    Hi,

    I have a problem in logging thru telnet on RHEL 4 system . The o/p of rpm -qa | grep telnet shows the following,
    telnet-0.17-31.EL4.3

    Secondly when I run ping <hostname> command it gives me the following o/p,

    ping rhel (127.0.0.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from rhel (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=0 ttl=64 time=0.071 ms
    64 bytes from rhel(127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.067 ms
    64 bytes from rhel(127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.065 ms

    I am unable to figure it out why it is happening . Moreover this is a dual boot machine .

    Regards
    Powell

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast likwid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    649
    telnet is most likely not running because it is basically deprecated by ssh. Is there a reason that you want to use telnet over ssh?

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    4
    I do not want to use telnet over ssh . what are the steps needs to be followed to disable the use of telnet over ssh ?

    Also the telnet server package ( telnet-server-0.17-31.EL4.3 ) is not present on my system .

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Enthusiast likwid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    649
    By "telnet over ssh" I meant why would you want to use telnet rather than ssh. SSH does all that and more, and it's encrypted. If you want to use telnet I guess install telnet-server and it should be turned on. You can check by running
    Code:
    chkconfig --list | grep telnet
    Most organizations do not even allow telnet anymore because SSH has eclipsed telnet in security and functionality.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    4
    Thanks for the response . Could you please answer the second query which I had put forth regd the o/p of ping,

    ping rhel (127.0.0.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from rhel (127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=0 ttl=64 time=0.071 ms
    64 bytes from rhel(127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.067 ms
    64 bytes from rhel(127.0.0.1): icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.065 ms

    Since this been a dual boot , the Windows machine shows the ip address (15.76.118.196 ).
    But why is it the Linux machine show a different ip address?

  7. #6
    Linux Enthusiast likwid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    649
    127.0.0.1 is your loopback address. Your system's hostname should resolve to this IP address via /etc/hosts. It's normal operation.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •