Find the answer to your Linux question:
I've been at this all day now and I can't seem to get this to install. I searched high and low all over google and FAQ's for dvd-rip and it's ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

DVD::RIP on Red Hat 9 and multiple RPM packages

I've been at this all day now and I can't seem to get this to install. I searched high and low all over google and FAQ's for dvd-rip and it's constituent parts but cannot seem to come up with an answer. I'm completely new with linux and am looking to back up some dvd's. I understand that dvd::rip is the best program for this.

Now, I tried installing the packages it said it needed, Perl Gtk Module, transcode, and imagemagick. I got the .rpm files for all of these and tried installing those. But when I tried installing them they would come up and tell me that I needed this different package like XFree86-libs version 4.3.0-2. I found the packages it said I needed and attempted to install them but it told me that I had a newer version already installed. I'm completely lost as to what to do now.

I then noticed that some of the packages I needed came along with some of the development tools on the Red Hat 9 cd's. I tried installing the development packages from the RedHat cd-rom but it came up and told me I was missing packages as well, but once again the packages on my computer were newer.

I have Red Hat 9 installed and just before trying to do this I updated through the red hat website (it told me there were 99 updates), I'm wondering..was this updating bad because now I can't even install packages off the Red Hat 9 cd's?

Please Help
    Steve.

Linux Newbie
    I can answer your last question :

The update was probably NOT a bad thing,
    the reason why you can't use packages of the CD is because you already have newer versions of them, which you got from the Red Hat server.