Find the answer to your Linux question:
I've been trying to figure out a problem associated with QT-4 running on FC6 and an application written to QT-3 looking for Type1/TrueType system fonts. Unfortunately, the application, lignumCAD, has ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

QT Guru anyone?

I've been trying to figure out a problem associated with QT-4 running on FC6 and an application written to QT-3 looking for Type1/TrueType system fonts. Unfortunately, the application, lignumCAD, has not been maintained since 2002 and both the developer and his company appear to have fallen off the face of the planet. (http://lignumcad.sourceforge.net/doc/en/HTML/index.html)

So, not being a Qt expert, I've managed to port the lignumCAD code to FC6 - but still dependent on QT-3 libs. And, guess what, I can now successfully and with frustrating regularity recreate the original problem from the RPM install. The application dies after not finding system TrueType/Type1 fonts via Qfont::rawName().

• I have run /usr/lib/qt-3.3/bin/qtconfig and set the default font to Arial/12pt - which saves to ~/.qt/qtrc. No joy.
    • I have run /usr/lib/qt4/bin/qtconfig-qt4 and set the same defaults - which saves to ~/.config/Trolltech.conf. No joy.
    • I have tried umpteen (<-- technical term for 'lots') different Type1 and TrueType fonts that are in deed loaded on my system. No joy.
    • I have mucked with Xresources and any other system font-like configuration I can find. Again, no joy.

I'd hoped that after some time porting/updating lignumCAD so that it would compile/run on FC6 that I would be able to debug the problem during runtime. Again, being Qt stupid, no joy.

I know that there is a compassionate QT Guru lurking out there who could answer this with only a moment of thought. This frustrated old school hacker would be most appreciative. I'd offer my firstborn, but I'm sure you wouldn't want to pay for his college...

Fred