Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
Hello: I'm trying to run some vidoes in Totem but get an error message saying that it does not have the codes to deal with them. In Windows software there ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    me!
    me! is offline
    Just Joined! me!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    Posts
    31

    Getting Totem Codecs


    Hello:

    I'm trying to run some vidoes in Totem but get an error message saying that it does not have the codes to deal with them.

    In Windows software there is usually an option then to search for the codecs but none is given in Totem. And I can't find anything in the menu under 'tool' etc.

    So how do you get codecs for Totem?

    me!

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Vergil83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,407
    This is for fc 5, but it may work the same http://ubuntuguide.org/wiki/Fedora_f...timedia_Codecs
    Brilliant Mediocrity - Making Failure Look Good

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie tvilkov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Moscow
    Posts
    136
    Hi there!
    Try VLC media player or MPlayer (it has a good codec pack available to download from their site).
    Gentoo 2.6.24 amd64
    AMD Anthlon 64 X2, 2 GB RAM, Asus M2N-MX, nVidia GeForce 9600GT 512Mb, 250Gb + 160Gb HDDs

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    30
    On Linux you normally get all codecs in one go when installing your software, for example when you install KDE on Debian or Ubuntu you simply get KPlayer and MPlayer along with everything needed to decode any kind of media all in one command like this:

    apt-get install mplayer kplayer libdvdcss w32codecs

    assuming you have set up the debian-multimedia.org repository.

  5. #5
    Linux Guru Vergil83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,407
    Quote Originally Posted by apsel
    Debian or Ubuntu ...
    The op appears to be using fedora core....
    Brilliant Mediocrity - Making Failure Look Good

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by Vergil83
    The op appears to be using fedora core....
    I know, that was just an example from the distros I know. On Fedora it should be quite similar though. I know there is a KPlayer package, and as long as all dependencies are right, everything should install smoothly. KPlayer is for KDE though, not for Gnome.

  7. #7
    Linux Guru Juan Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    /home/south_america/ecuador/quito
    Posts
    2,064
    Fedora 3 is pretty outdated now, I don't know if yum is still supported there

    Anyway try this, I won't guarrantee it will work, but however

    Everything as root:

    mv /etc/yum.conf /etc/yum.conf.bak
    cd /etc
    wget http://www.fedorafaq.org/fc3/samples/yum.conf
    yum install gstreamer-plugins-mp3

    This will get mp3 codecs for Totem, not sure about package names in that version of Fedora for mpeg, wmv, etc codecs .
    If you won't update, the best thing you can do is getting MPlayer compiled from source with all it auxiliary programs and w32codecs
    Put your hand in an oven for a minute and it will be like an hour, sit beside a beautiful woman for an hour and it will be like a minute, that is relativity. --Albert Einstein
    Linux User #425940

    Don't PM me with questions, instead post in the forums

  8. #8
    Just Joined! duojet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    33
    have you ever tried automatix?

  9. #9
    Linux Guru Juan Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    /home/south_america/ecuador/quito
    Posts
    2,064
    have you ever tried automatix?
    Automatix is for Debian-based distros (e.g Ubuntu, MEPIS) , Fedora is not one
    Put your hand in an oven for a minute and it will be like an hour, sit beside a beautiful woman for an hour and it will be like a minute, that is relativity. --Albert Einstein
    Linux User #425940

    Don't PM me with questions, instead post in the forums

  10. #10
    me!
    me! is offline
    Just Joined! me!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    Posts
    31
    Quote Originally Posted by Vergil83
    The op appears to be using fedora core....
    Sorry, forgot to change my profile. I'm using Ubutnu Dapper now. It seems to work way better (no USB problems, no sound card troubles).

    I've tried a couple of films and some videos in Totem and only one worked. I think I'll go now and try something from a video shop so I know I have a good burn. I don't have a Windows system to things on.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •