Find the answer to your Linux question:
sorry if I'm posting this in the wrong spot, I'm new to actually posting something) How I got where I am: In hopes to get beryl running, I attempted to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

yet another Xserver Failed to load default font 'fixed' thread (nothing seems to fix)

sorry if I'm posting this in the wrong spot, I'm new to actually posting something)

How I got where I am:
    In hopes to get beryl running, I attempted to upgrade xorg to 7.0 (following the beryl wiki for slackware) When I went to run xserver and had a HUGE list of version conflicts. Got aggravated with it so I decided to re-install without ANY Xserver packages

over a few days I installed the latest (stable) versions of the following
    expat
    gperf
    zlib
    libdrm
    freetype
    fontconfig
    libxcb
    gperf
    fontconfig

installed ALL most recent versions of protos given by xorg
    installed ALL most recent libs given by xorg
    installed Xserver 7.2
    installed ALL most recent utils given by xorg
    installed mkfontdir
    installed mkfontscale
    installed ALL most recent fonts given by xorg

set IPV6 module to load in rc.d

I ran xorgconfig which gave me error about xkb rules missing, I reinstalled all xkb packages in hopes to fix it, but no fix. I ended up copying the "rules" folder from a system that works and it made it through with only minor error) intending to deal with it later)

installed NVIDIA driver (v1.9755)

FINALLY, I get to run xserver but wait

when I go to run xserver, I get the NVIDIA logo on the screen, then it stops with
    "Fatal server error:
    could not open default font 'fixed'"

I checked the FontPaths to make sure they were correct, I checked the fonts.alias file inside of the /fonts/misc folder to make sure "fixed" was declared...it is.

after reading up on it, I found a few things with xfs and fontconfig

fc-cache runs successfully