Find the answer to your Linux question:
I recently started using RH9 moving toward replacing my win2k pro with linux. It is on a seperate drive of its own. I also have wine installed and am running ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

JAVA on RH9 Linux

I recently started using RH9 moving toward replacing my win2k pro with linux. It is on a seperate drive of its own. I also have wine installed and am running a few apps - RadioUserland Desktop. Overall I find linux pretty easy to use, I have 15 years experience in MSWin, and have been configuring linux ports and Apache for about a year.

I've installed a number of apps, both from an RPM and src to compile, with few problems. I installed Sun j2re1.4.2_04 on my linux drive and have installed a few Java apps. But, I can not get any of the Java apps to work. I've located them in the /usr/local forlder, Java is in the same folder. I've located them as a subdirectory of my Java installation. I've written .sh files with JAVA-HOME and classpath pointing to the java installation. I've located them in the /usr/bin folder as this in where the java and jar files are located. I've copied these files into the apps directory.

All with no sucess ? ! Additionally I keep getting a "-jar not recognized, will ignore: message.

Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong, so I can get Java apps to run on my box ?

Curtis Seyfried
    curtis.seyfried@verizon.net

Linux Newbie
    Ensure Following:

1. type which java
    expected result: You should get /usr/java/j2sdk1.4.2_02/bin
    if you dont get this,
    a. edit .bash_profile in your home directory and add the below 2 lines.
    Code:
    PATH=$PATH:/usr/java/j2sdk1.4.2_02/bin
    export PATH
    2. Now, try creating a simple java File and Compile it... it should work fine..

Finally... if NOTHING gets to work, try re installing JVM using --force option.

Just Joined!

RH9 Java problem