Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm rather new to linux in general. I'm in the process of switching over, and am comparing capabilities. I was wondering if there was a gui for linux that was ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question customizable gui

I'm rather new to linux in general. I'm in the process of switching over, and am comparing capabilities.

I was wondering if there was a gui for linux that was fully customizable. For example, able to create buttons on the desktop, display forms and pictures. if you have no idea what i'm talking about, i use 'talisman' on my windows partition as a shell replacement and windowblinds to skin every window.

Are there any programs that could do these things or would i have to learn an object oriented language and modify the source of kde or something?

If I understand your question correctly, there is no single program i know of that does all this for you.

However, with KDE or Gnome you get plenty of features and with a program such as gdesklets you can get all sorts of interesting apps and widgets to run on your desktop

The bonus of it all is that most linux distros come with kde or gnome installed by default. If your new to linux, ubuntu will be a good starting place (comes with gnome) or if you prefer the kde look (which IMHO looks very much like windows by default) you can install kubuntu.

the KDE and/or gnome desktops will give you all sorts of control such as skins (no seperate program like windowblinds needed) and you can also rearrange where all your toolbars and menus go. For example, you could put the launch menu (like windows start button) anywhere you want, or even make multiple buttons for it. Same goes for the system clock, system tray, and the buttons for all open apps. There are also dozens of other little gadgets you can place in the bar.