Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
I'm using Firefox 1.5 under CentOS 5. The fonts are horrible. I have a similar problem under OpenSUSE. What is the deal? Is there some configuration options that I should ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    242

    Fonts in Firefox


    I'm using Firefox 1.5 under CentOS 5. The fonts are horrible.
    I have a similar problem under OpenSUSE. What is the deal?
    Is there some configuration options that I should change to get
    it into a more friendly setup? It's almost like Firefox overrides
    the websites defined fonts, so nothing looks as it should look.

  2. #2
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Play around with the fonts some in Edit / Preferences / Fonts & Colors.

    You can set Firefox to always use the fonts you choose.

    Make sure you have the fonts you want installed.
    oz

  3. #3
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Quote Originally Posted by thehemi
    It's almost like Firefox overrides the websites defined fonts, so nothing looks as it should look.
    did you install TrueType Fonts? those are most commonly used fonts and if FireFox doesn't find fonts used by Websites in Font path, it uses default fonts only.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    242
    Quote Originally Posted by ozar View Post
    You can set Firefox to always use the fonts you choose.
    My Firefox is setup to "Allow pages to choose their own fonts..."
    which is what I want, but the pages just look like trash. I guess it
    must be lack of support for most of these fonts by my installation.

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    242
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper View Post
    did you install TrueType Fonts? those are most commonly used fonts and if FireFox doesn't find fonts used by Websites in Font path, it uses default fonts only.
    # rpm -qa | grep true
    xorg-x11-fonts-truetype-7.1-2.1.el5

    Are those what you're talking about? Or is there something else?

  6. #6
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    I don't care for the MS Core Fonts, myself, but have had good very results with the bitstream fonts and with dejavu fonts. If you are using KDE there's an option for installing fonts in the control center. It's always worked perfectly for me.
    oz

  7. #7
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Quote Originally Posted by thehemi
    # rpm -qa | grep true
    xorg-x11-fonts-truetype-7.1-2.1.el5

    Are those what you're talking about? Or is there something else?
    No. i am talking about MS TrueType fonts. it includes Arial, Times, Comic and other standard MS Fonts.
    Google msttcorefonts.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    242
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper View Post
    No. i am talking about MS TrueType fonts. it includes Arial, Times, Comic and other standard MS Fonts.
    Google msttcorefonts.
    I installed "Microsoft's TrueType core fonts" from this site:

    Microsoft's TrueType core fonts on rpm based systems

    $ xlsfonts | grep microsoft -c
    48

    Restarted the entire box, not just xfs, and my fonts haven't changed.
    This sucks because everything else about my Linux desktop is okay,
    only surfing via Firefox is messed up, and it's important these days!

  9. #9
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    rename .mozilla folder and launch FireFox again.

    Code:
    mv ~/.mozilla ~/Mozilla
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  10. #10
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    242
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper View Post
    rename .mozilla folder and launch FireFox again.
    Good call. Firefox is not yet perfect, but it's much better!

    Thanks for your help, folks.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •