Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
i have installed arch and when it comes to the new booted screen, it comes up with login i enter root and then this command to create a new user, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    19

    Question useradd problem


    i have installed arch and when it comes to the new booted screen, it comes up with login i enter root and then this command to create a new user,

    # useradd -m -s /bin/bash username

    and it then gives me a password error without letting me enter the password command.


    Please help!!!!

  2. #2
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Welcome to the forums!

    Not sure it'll work, but try adduser instead.

    Let us know.
    oz

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    19
    unfortunately they both come with the same problem "unable to lock password file"

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    I'm really not sure what's going on here.

    Have you already created a root password?
    oz

  6. #5
    Linux Engineer Thrillhouse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Arlington, VA, USA
    Posts
    1,377
    Sounds like the root file system might be mounted read-only. Check /etc/fstab. Make it read-write if so.

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    19
    im not sure but how do i set root password,

  8. #7
    Linux Engineer Thrillhouse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Arlington, VA, USA
    Posts
    1,377
    Easy:
    Code:
    #passwd root

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    19
    but when i try that and enter new password it comes up with

    "passwd: Authentication token lock busy"

  10. #9
    Linux Engineer Thrillhouse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Arlington, VA, USA
    Posts
    1,377
    That's why I think your fstab is mounting the root filesystem as read-only. Post the output of:
    Code:
    cat /etc/fstab
    and we can check it. If that's not the problem, we can move on to other possibilities.

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    19
    just wrote it in, and what am i going to be looking for

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •