Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 4 of 4
Im using my mothers computer right now. We installed Arch on it and the networkcard dies after some use. After an reboot everything works fina again. We running on an ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    18

    Networking


    Im using my mothers computer right now. We installed Arch on it and the networkcard dies after some use.

    After an reboot everything works fina again.

    We running on an built in card in the ASUS Motherboard.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,677
    Anything posted in the logs? Next time it dies do the following as root;

    Code:
    ifdown eth0
    ifup eth0
    See if that brings it back to life.

    Check the logs again. Also look at dmesg and see if there is anything in there about your nework card.

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    18
    I wrote this in another forum:

    nForce networking and Thomson SpeedTouch 510
    I have an computer with ASUS motherboard. It have an nForce chipset.

    The network dies somtmes. How to fix it?

    EDIT:
    Code:
    root@Litronit:/home/elis# /etc/rc.d/network restart
    :: Stopping Network                                                      [FAIL]
    :: Starting Network                                                      [BUSY] 
    Error, eth0: ioctl SIOCGIFHWADDR: No such device
                                                                             [FAIL]
    root@Litronit:/home/elis#
    I got this message when I try to restart network after it died.


    EDIT2:
    It Just lost connection to internet. The network dont die... I can acces the modem/router page when it's dead.

    It's just wierd.

    EDIT3:
    Hmm, checked with IPs and stuff when it dies.

    When I can access the internet my IP in ifconfig is my internet IP. And I can't access the modems config page.
    When It's dead I got an local IP and cant access the internet but I can access the router page.

    But I don't know why it changes my IP.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Quote Originally Posted by Lazydog View Post
    Anything posted in the logs? Next time it dies do the following as root;

    Code:
    ifdown eth0
    ifup eth0
    See if that brings it back to life.

    Check the logs again. Also look at dmesg and see if there is anything in there about your nework card.
    Check this post, It have more information. And I will try ifdown and ifup.

    I used /etc/rc.d/network restart

    Code:
    Nov 11 09:56:10 Litronit dhcpcd[7254]: eth0: renewing lease of 84.217.235.60
    Nov 11 09:56:10 Litronit dhcpcd[7254]: eth0: received NAK: Lease is invalid.
    Nov 11 09:56:10 Litronit dhcpcd[7254]: eth0: broadcasting for a lease
    Nov 11 09:56:12 Litronit dhcpcd[7254]: eth0: offered 192.168.0.1 from 192.168.0.254
    Nov 11 09:56:12 Litronit dhcpcd[7254]: eth0: checking 192.168.0.1 is available on attached networks
    Nov 11 09:56:13 Litronit dhcpcd[7254]: eth0: leased 192.168.0.1 for 86400 seconds
    Nov 11 09:56:13 Litronit dhcpcd[7254]: eth0: no renewal time supplied, assuming 43200 seconds
    Nov 11 09:56:13 Litronit dhcpcd[7254]: eth0: no rebind time supplied, assuming 75600 seconds
    Nov 11 09:56:13 Litronit dhcpcd[7254]: eth0: removing default route via 84.217.234.1 metric 0
    Nov 11 09:56:13 Litronit dhcpcd[7254]: eth0: adding IP address 192.168.0.1/24
    Nov 11 09:56:13 Litronit dhcpcd[7254]: eth0: removing IP address 84.217.235.60/23
    Nov 11 09:56:13 Litronit dhcpcd[7254]: eth0: adding default route via 192.168.0.254 metric 0
    Nov 11 09:56:13 Litronit dhcpcd[7254]: eth0: adding route to 169.254.0.0/16 metric 0

  4. #4
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,677
    Looking what you have posted above it looks like there is a problem with the DHCP server. Let me ask you this, what is the time between when you get it working until it stops?

    Also please post what the logs show when you boot up and get an ip address
    Then post the logs again when you loose connection.

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •