Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
I want to mount my XP partition(NTFS). I tried Code: #ntfsmount /dev/sda1 /mnt But some errors are thrown on the console Code: fuse: unknown option "USER = root" fuse_new failed ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie reiko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Chennai, India
    Posts
    105

    Cannot mount ntfs partition


    I want to mount my XP partition(NTFS). I tried
    Code:
    #ntfsmount /dev/sda1 /mnt
    But some errors are thrown on the console
    Code:
    fuse: unknown option "USER = root"
    fuse_new failed
    umounting /dev/sda1 ()
    Now how can i resolve this problem to mount my ntfs partition in rw mode.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Post the contents of /etc/fstab file and output of fdisk -l command here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie reiko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Chennai, India
    Posts
    105
    Mr.casper I used ntfs-3g to mount ntfs partition but when I use ntfsmount its not workin for me. Any reasons?

  4. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    How did you mount partition using ntfs-3g? Post exact command here. You should pass default options with ntfsmount command too.

    I would suggest you to edit /etc/fstab to set NTFS automount at boot up. Setting umask=0 will allow read/write access to all users.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie reiko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Chennai, India
    Posts
    105
    This is what I used to mount ntfs using ntfs-3g
    Code:
    #ntfs-3g /dev/sda6 /mnt/cdrom
    and this is the content of mount command when i executed it
    Code:
    #mount
    /dev/sda8 on / type ext3 (rw)
    none on /proc type proc (rw)
    none on /sys type sysfs (rw)
    none on /dev type ramfs (rw)
    none on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw)
    none on /dev/pts type devpts (rw)
    none on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)
    /dev/sda1 on /mnt/windows type fuseblk (rw,nosuid,nodev,noatime,allow_other,blksize=4096)
    /dev/sda6 on /mnt/cdrom type fuseblk (rw,nosuid,nodev,noatime,allow_other,blksize=4096)
    this the output of fdisk -l

    Code:
    #fdisk -l /dev/sda
    
    
    Disk /dev/sda: 80.0 GB, 80060424192 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9733 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x340b340a
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sda1               1        1275    10241406    7  HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda2   *        1276        1299      192780   83  Linux
    /dev/sda3            1300        8176    55239502+   f  W95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/sda5            1300        2829    12289693+  83  Linux
    /dev/sda6            2830        5379    20482843+   7  HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda7            5380        7203    14651248+  83  Linux
    /dev/sda8            7204        8176     7815591   83  Linux

  6. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Something is wrong in /etc/fstab file. Its mounting /dev/sda6 partition at /dev/cdrom.

    Log in as root and create mount point (folder) for /dev/sda6 partition.
    Code:
    mkdir /Windows_d
    Open /etc/fstab file in your fav text editor. Edit /dev/sda1 and /dev/sda6 lines.

    Those lines should be like this
    Code:
    /dev/sda1   /Windows ntfs-3g  defaults,umask=0  0  0
    /dev/sda6   /Windows_d ntfs-3g  defaults,umask=0  0  0
    Save file and execute mount -a command Or reboot machine. Check /Windows and /Windows_d folders. You wont have to execute ntfs-3g command again.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #7
    Linux Newbie reiko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Chennai, India
    Posts
    105
    Hey hey Casper I have chosen /mnt/cdrom to mount dat partition. Now Everything works fine thanks a lot!!!!

  8. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Glad to help you reiko !
    Do start a new thread if you have any other question. Have fun with Linux !!!
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •